We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lowered expectations and you would be happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lowered expectations and you would be happy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms need to be updated. The toilet seat had the gloss off of part of it and cabinets were chipped up. Decor not so good and the beds are uncomfortable and they don't have queens when u book for 2 adults u get 2 full beds. The water in the shower has great water pressure but the head doesn't move so as I am short it hit me in the head full on and it doesn't get hot just warm. The staff weren't around when you needed them, I went to the lounge and bar tender was MIA at 10 at night they had to page him. The thermostat in our room was set on Celsius so ya that's annoying. Basically they portray it like the nicest place in rapid city and if this is it I AM SCARED

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
291
211
38
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Right next to a park like setting on the shores of Rapid Creek. I love these older style hotels made popular in the late 80s. Glass canopy elevators and huge atrium with nice lounge and eating areas. The kids loved the pool area and the sundeck which is a great touch for when the weather calls for blue skies.

Rooms were very large and clean and the channel selection was varied and plentiful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Very close to the shops and restaurants downtown as well...I call it "brisk" walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights. We were with a tour group going to see Mt. Rushmore and surrounding areas. The hotel is very clean, nice cool water drinks with fruit or citrus as you entered the hotel, a special touch. The hotel stay included breakfast every morning. A nice choice of made to order omelets and waffles. Also a very large buffet area for eggs, meats, fruit, cereals, etc. We had a group dinner which was a special order for the group, salad, rolls, entree and dessert one of the nights we were there in a separate banquet room. It was delicious. My only minor complaint was that we discovered that our room was next to the hotel's service elevator. We kept hearing the cables as the elevator came up or went down, but we were relieved to find out that stopped after a certain time each evening.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not next to the service elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRGELACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stay here was fine. Got to spin the wheel to determine what prize I would get as a priority club member and after gettin a lousy prize the girl let me pick whatever I wanted which was nice of her. Breakfast was good. Room smelled smokey despite non smoking policy. Overall I liked it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean, friendly, comfortable and spacious Hotel. Always clean surroundings. Well lit parking, several different doors for easy access. Service is always fast at the front desk. They know whats going on, and don't treat you like your a dummy. I recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eqpics777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was actually a very nice property. Surprisingly larger than what I had expected, and located directly next to the convention center and a lovely park. Somewhat disappointed with the front desk staff when I was promised a king room, only to return hours later and find I'd been placed in a double queen room. The restaurant was nice, not fancy, but quite sufficient. Mt. Rushmore is located about forty minutes away, a very nice drive to a great landmark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuba4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel had a beautiful lobby. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was ok. They did a good job keeping it stocked. Waffle bar and omelet bar was good, rest was mediocre. The staff was ok for the most part. Some members of my family comments on the younger staff converging, gossiping and not serving the customers. That was the only specific complaint. The only moment of above and beyond service was in the coffee shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing