We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Great Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Chugiak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Great Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

First The hotel layout reminds me much of a Hilton or Hyatt plaza layout.

Pros:

- The front desk was unbelievably nice. After 8 days of being on the road they certainly made my wife, myself, and our pets feel very welcome.

- Pet policy is very done very well as they don't mind you leaving them behind in your room as long as you leave a phone number behind.

- The rooms were nicely sized and were a perfect fit for larger luggage, with much more room to spare.

- As a Holiday Inn/Staybridge member I loved the "wheel game" upon check in. If you are a member you get a chance at winning a free: appetizer, dinner, or breakfast ($10 value). Such a great idea for a hotel. Was a great feeling to get something free after swiping my company travel card all day long for purchases.

Cons:

- Breakfast. There is the option between a $10 breakfast bar or a purchased meal. We went with a meal that was about the same price and then instantly regretted it after seeing the portion. Breakfast and dinner are our two large meals on the road, so a sizable meal would be nice. Future guests, opt for the breakfast bar. The hotel management needs to raise room priced $5 and then include breakfast in the stay all together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
291
211
38
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

No fridge, no microwave, dirty staircases, stained carpet in the room....very overpriced! The staff and location are the only two reasons we come here. For the price, I would expect a lot more. This site also stinks because a review has to be at least 200 characters??

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliannestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Juliannestew,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you may have had with the condition of the room that you were allocated and if the cleanliness levels were substandard. I have noted your feedback and this shall be used to consider for improvements needed.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all, it is not a five star oasis in the middle of the prairie. However, it is a great choice in Rapid City. Comfortable rooms, clean, and friendly. The food is not bad -- we ate in the bar and had breakfast. It is convenient to downtown; a nice walk through the park. Even the gym works in a pinch. We have stayed in many 5 star resorts where we did not feel as welcome and comfortable. Good Job!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malthus500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was in a great location in downtown Rapid City and short drives to the attractions. I was greeted in a very friendly manner. The Check-in experience was very good. I asked the girl on the front desk if she could assist me with making a reservation at the next Holiday Inn along my route. She was MORE THAN HAPPY to call the my next destination and make a reservation for me using my IHC Member number. (I was very impressed since the last Holiday Inn located in Shakopee had said NO to me when I asked the same thing of them)

The hotel is a hollow square so that all doors to the rooms on all levels are access by walkways around the centre courtyard. (I was on the 3rd floor and did not hear any noise from anyone in the courtyard) The hotel is older so the rooms show a little wear for their age. Taking this into account I found the rooms clean and comfortable.

Breakfast in the Cafe on the main floor was good, we ordered A-la-Cart so did not try the buffet.

Internet WiFi was good, I always had a good signal when I was in the room.

Check-Out was Quick and Easy and again VERY friendly staff on the Front Desk.

It is because of the location and the Staff that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room on the South side of the Hotel would give a better view of Rapid City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordtgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. We got in late. I had a sore throat. The front desk opened up the gift shop after it was closed so I could get cough drops - THAT'S CUSTOMER SERVICE. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roncheich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, great rooms, pet friendly. On the downside, the restaurant was mediocre, at best. Breakfast was overpriced and presentation was pitiful. I have had better 'free' breakfasts at La Quinta and residence inn.

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog, ask for a lower floor. the fountain by the elevators freaked my dog out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriLou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear TLo57,

Thank you for your considerate review. It is lovely to read you liked the rooms and found the staff friendly. However, I am sorry you were not happy with the breakfast. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demaileron
Level Contributor
213 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Repeat guest. This is a great property; it could be a Crowne Plaza. Very nice and welcoming staff, nice rooms, easy to use TV, great wifi, and tasty breakfast. Property has indoor pool and hot tub. There is an area shuttle; always willing to give you a ride. Downtown is reasonable walking distance thru neighboring park. Worth the upgrade to Executive King Rooms.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to Exec King
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing