We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great choice of hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

After an unfortunate start walking in to a room that hadn't been made up, my stay here was absolutely excellent. Staff were very helpful , rooms were nice, restaurant was great and I liked the coffee shop SO much.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is a really great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am so sorry that we slipped up at the beginning of your stay. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to regain your faith. I am pleased that you enjoyed our service and amenities. I hope to see you again soon.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
291
211
38
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It is an older hotel, but still in nice condition. It has a restaurant/bar on site, along with coffee shop. Breakfast was not included, but available in the restaurant on main floor. It is located close to downtown if you wanted to walk. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

Room Tip: I always enjoy a higher floor away from the elevator for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebrtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate your business and your review. Thank you for taking the time to comment. It was a pleasure serving you.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fabulous bed, incredible staff, nice breakfast buffet and overall great service. Highly Recommend! Arrived with a large group late at night and the desk staff was tremendously efficient at getting everyone checked in and bags to their rooms. The bed was a piece of heaven - so incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. Thank you for mentioning how great the beds are. I have had numerous guests inquire about purchasing them. We really appreciate your business and your time in leaving a review. Thank you.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is a great place to stay when in Rapid City SD. The Front Desk people are well trained and take customer service to the highest levels. The best Front Desk person is Savannah. You couldn’t have a better experience if you are dealing with this employee. She is knowledgeable, efficient and has a GREAT disposition which makes for a pleasurable experience when you check in to the property. The rooms were clean, the bed was great, the Internet was fast and reliable and the hotel is a relaxing place plus it’s close to everything downtown and convenient to the main roads in the area.

The only negative thing about the property is the dining experience. It doesn’t live up to the great accommodations. Most of the menu items are institutional food service slop that is either fried, cooked in a bag or fried and the wait staff doesn’t have the same high standards as the Front Desk. Attentiveness to the customer is not paramount which leads to unfilled water glasses, long delay on serving the food and equally long delay in delivery of the bill and making payment which is handled by the wait staff. After my entrée was served the waiter did not come back to check on me until I was finished. Had the waiter come back to check on me he would have found that I needed water and would have liked some ketchup for my onion rings. I notice other patrons having the same issues so it wasn’t a one-off experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am so happy to hear that Savannah made your stay. She really is a gem here at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize her. I appreciate your details in regards to your experience in the restaurant. I have shared the review with the team and we are taking the necessary steps to make sure that others will not be disappointed in the same way. Please visit us again soon.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn was clean, pleasant and the staff was cheerful and helpful.
It is located just 2 blocks from downtown Rapid City and it is a pleasant walk through Memorial Park.

The atrium in the hotel was an enjoyable place for a drink and a refreshing spot for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWAJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the downtown area. You may have noticed the Promenade being build in the park out front. This will be a direct path from the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza to our vibrant downtown. Please come back again soon and enjoy.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Jami at the front desk was an amazing help to me and went out of her way to help me with a off-beat issue when I was there for business! By far one of the best places I travel to for business. The front desk always is helpful and so friendly and given the volume of people that go through this hotel that says a lot for the management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
That you for your kind review and for recognizing Jami at the front desk for going above and beyond. I have shared your review with the entire team and put Jami's name in lights for her great service at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to serving you again.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, this time was when I asked my girlfriend to merry me!!! And all the other restaurant were closed at 9, and these guys stayed open and made this night special for us. Talk about going above and beyond with services! I will always come here and give them my business! Thanks again to Ally, Dave, and everyone else involved with this memory!

Room Tip: I like the top floor because you don't hear the water turn on from the other floors in morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS! We are very happy and excited for you both. Thank you so much for allowing us to be part of such a special day. It was truely a pleasure for our team to assist you in this. Keep us in mind when the date is set, we would love to host your wedding and reception.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing