We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn was clean, pleasant and the staff was cheerful and helpful.
It is located just 2 blocks from downtown Rapid City and it is a pleasant walk through Memorial Park.

The atrium in the hotel was an enjoyable place for a drink and a refreshing spot for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWAJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the downtown area. You may have noticed the Promenade being build in the park out front. This will be a direct path from the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza to our vibrant downtown. Please come back again soon and enjoy.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    354
    103
    31
    28
See reviews for
302
218
39
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Jami at the front desk was an amazing help to me and went out of her way to help me with a off-beat issue when I was there for business! By far one of the best places I travel to for business. The front desk always is helpful and so friendly and given the volume of people that go through this hotel that says a lot for the management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
That you for your kind review and for recognizing Jami at the front desk for going above and beyond. I have shared your review with the entire team and put Jami's name in lights for her great service at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to serving you again.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, this time was when I asked my girlfriend to merry me!!! And all the other restaurant were closed at 9, and these guys stayed open and made this night special for us. Talk about going above and beyond with services! I will always come here and give them my business! Thanks again to Ally, Dave, and everyone else involved with this memory!

Room Tip: I like the top floor because you don't hear the water turn on from the other floors in morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS! We are very happy and excited for you both. Thank you so much for allowing us to be part of such a special day. It was truely a pleasure for our team to assist you in this. Keep us in mind when the date is set, we would love to host your wedding and reception.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay during our last vacation to Rapid City, SD. The Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was always kept clean and well stocked. The hotel is very beautiful and has much to offer in regards to amenities and features. We enjoyed taking a dip in the hot tub before retiring for the night on our last night in the hotel. The beds were very comfortable and all of us were able to get plenty of sleep without interruption. They didn't even charge us for our small pet that we brought along. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. You won't go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review about the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. I am so happy to hear that you and your pet enjoyed your stay. Thanks for posting a few pictures as well. Travel safe and come see us again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Everything about this hotel was very good except....see below.

The best part was the hospitality of Savannah Brecht at the front desk upon check in. She was very friendly and resourceful. The food was good, the hotel bar was good.

My only complaint was that upon entering my room, the temperature was 76 deg. I turned on the AC to 65 and then 62 and then 58 and then later to 50 deg. When waking up the next morning after a rough night of sleep, the temp was 76 deg. I told the front desk lady when checking out and all she said was they'ed check it out. No I',m sorry or anything else.

If all the employees were as nice and concerned as Savannah this would be a top notch place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawkdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your review. I would like to apologize for the attitude of indifference you experienced at our front desk. I can assure you that is not acceptable behavior and it has already been addressed. Thank you for the overall good review and for recognizing Savannah has a super star in customer service. We appreciate your time and you business. Thank you for staying with us.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jessica, Allison and Ally at the front desk have been great and have been very helpful and professional during our stay. They always had a nice smile and a friendly greeting. Mack and trainee Stephen were great as our servers in the restaurant on prime rib/crab Friday. What a wonderful experience we had with them. Anthony was our shuttle driver one evening and what a pleasure it was to ride with him for the few blocks that we had to travel. Dave was a great PR man and host.

It is very obvious that the staff really enjoy their jobs and customer satisfaction is their goal. Great job!

Room Tip: We were in 601, right off of the elevator, easy access and a pretty good view. Quiet room and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am so pleased that you took the time to recognize so many of our team members and their commitment to customer service. We work very hard at making sure the team is enjoying their experience here at the Holiday Inn. It is great to hear that you noticed that. Please stat with us again soon.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Holiday Inn is outstanding! The rooms are very big and clean. Breakfast was wonderful and there were many items on the menu - and kids eat free! Nice surprise. Customer service is the best I've ever received at a hotel - Savannah was such a delight and always remembered our names! Don't get service like that too much anymore. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the raving review. Savannah is a gem at the Holiday Inn, I am so happy you were able to experience her outstanding service. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Gold Bison Grill. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing