We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time In Rapid City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time In Rapid City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jessica, Allison and Ally at the front desk have been great and have been very helpful and professional during our stay. They always had a nice smile and a friendly greeting. Mack and trainee Stephen were great as our servers in the restaurant on prime rib/crab Friday. What a wonderful experience we had with them. Anthony was our shuttle driver one evening and what a pleasure it was to ride with him for the few blocks that we had to travel. Dave was a great PR man and host.

It is very obvious that the staff really enjoy their jobs and customer satisfaction is their goal. Great job!

Room Tip: We were in 601, right off of the elevator, easy access and a pretty good view. Quiet room and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am so pleased that you took the time to recognize so many of our team members and their commitment to customer service. We work very hard at making sure the team is enjoying their experience here at the Holiday Inn. It is great to hear that you noticed that. Please stat with us again soon.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
291
211
38
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Holiday Inn is outstanding! The rooms are very big and clean. Breakfast was wonderful and there were many items on the menu - and kids eat free! Nice surprise. Customer service is the best I've ever received at a hotel - Savannah was such a delight and always remembered our names! Don't get service like that too much anymore. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the raving review. Savannah is a gem at the Holiday Inn, I am so happy you were able to experience her outstanding service. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay. Help desk very friendly. Twana took very good care of us. Cindy at the coffe was great an makes and excellent mocha. The food at the restaurant is very good. They have a great breakfast buffet Sundays. Sautrday evenning all you can eat crab legs and prime rib. Wlking distance to downtown and a short drive to Mt Rushmore.
Higly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jramos1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Wee appreciate the recommendation.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My company booked me into this Holiday Inn while I was in town for two weeks. I was skeptical as I had had bad experiences with Holiday Inns in the past. This hotel is exceptional! From the front desk staff, especially Tawana, Paula, and Lindsey - you are made to feel very welcome and taken great care of. The room is spacious, clean, and comfortable. The atrium area is light, airy, and fanciful - love the umbrellas! The restaurant is also very good. Only down thing I could say is that one of the elevators kept going down and they both were slow. I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear TIsenn,

We sincerely appreciate the detailed review. It is comments such as yours that continue to inspire great service. Be assured we share all comments with the entire team. Lindsey, Twana and Paula will be highlighted and congratulated for making a great impression on you. I am so sorry about the glitches with the elevators. We just completed an upgrade to the elevators and I feel confident that you will not experience an issue in the future. Thank you for staying with us. We value your business.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the nicest holiday inns I have ever seen. It has a really great atmosphere. "The Grille," the hotel's restaurant is known locally for its great food, and it is located very near the civic center and close enough to down town to walk in the summer. I would recommend this place to any visitor to our city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side have a better view of the Black Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostlanternoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and great recommendation. We really appreciate your review.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the desk clerks (Ally and the rest) to the shuttle driver and the manager - and every other employee I encountered, they were the friendliest and most helpful group of Holiday Inn employees that I have ever met. My room was immaculate and spacious and the rest of the hotel very well kept, the food was very good, the amenities were plentiful, and the service was outstanding. The only downside I encountered was at the time of my stay there was only one elevator working (the other was down for maintenance) and it was during a busy weekend. I recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again if and when I return to Rapid City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDM1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review titled "Very Nice Hotel". We appreciate your business and your kind remarks. I have passed along your comments to the entire team. It is reviews such as yours that continue to motive and inspire great service. We look forward to your return.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere,USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

First off, the place is dull. I know they did some remodelingin recent years, but still feels dark inside.

Elevators are slow.

Rooms are average at best. Bathrooms feel old.

When you are in the dead of winter in Rapid City, and the wind is blowing, spending $150 a night for a room and then having walk what feels like a city block to your car in the lot (because they don't have enough up-front parking and no ramp.)

Having the bar downstairs is nice.

Hot-tub next to the pool was super gross. Had so much foam from chemical imbalances and probably people doing who knows what, you couldn't use it. Super gross. Floors around pool had not been cleaned in what one could only guess was the last 6 months...who knows...but again, very gross floors. Pool was super cold.

Did not have much interaction with the staff, but I can tell you that they did not say Hi to you when you walked in the front doors each day.

I remember when this place was built. It has never been a high-end hotel. Oh sure, it has a glass elevator and some super cheap waterfalls. But, it has never lived up to what it should be.

Restaurant has also always been sub-bar.

I just can't figure out this place. They are guaranteed business by being next to the Civic Center, but they just don't seem to care...or don't have the money to.

I sure hope they do a significant remodel of this hotel if the Civic Center gets their new addition approved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear MisterFeedback,

I want to personally apologize for your disappointment with our hotel. You can be confident that we will follow up on your concerns to ensure that others are not disappointed in the same way. We appreciate your making the effort to share your experience with us and hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing