We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have BEDBUGS!!!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights. After the first night I woke up with a couple bites on my right arm. I didn't know what they were from until I got up the second morning and bites in my left arm and leg. I spoke to the manager about this and he was very rude, refused to even look at the bites, which were swollen and very itchy, and said they didn't have bedbugs. The three morning I woke up with more bites on my arms and some on my right leg. The manager refused to speak at all to me about this again. I contacted the corporate office and still had no contact from the manager of the hotel or anything to compensate for my vacation being basically ruined because if multiple bedbug bites and the intense itching.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGM, Operation manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We take bed bugs very serious with any accusation. Our rooms are sprayed once a month by a qualified pest control agency. Once you notified my general manager he did talk to you and he thought your bites looked like mosquito bites. But he did have housekeeping do an inspection of the room and they found nothing. Next he called the pest control company to come out and do an inspection of the room. The pest control company found nothing either.You can be bitten by a bed bug and it can take a daytwo for it to show up. This means you could have had contact with another place and not even know it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, Operation manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Of all of the hotels we stayed in on this trip, this was certainly the worst. In fact it is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Some of the shortcomings:
1. The location - right across the street from Walmart may be a great convenience for some, for me . . not so much.

2. The parking lot is too small and difficult to exit onto a very busy street.

3. The faucet handles are apparently removable, at least one of the ones on our sink was.

4. Breakfast was pretty pathetic.

5. The alarm clocks were broken in both of the rooms we booked.

6. I'm not a fan of finding black curly hair on the shower wall. My hair is grey, so they weren't mine!

Just do yourself a favor and choose one of the many, much nicer motels close by.

Room Tip: Select one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueManMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have made changes with our housekeeping and checking the rooms before they are rented so people do not run into the problems you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Misty H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Leticia H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TLGM, Operations manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#41 of 49 in Rapid City
76 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 49 in Rapid City
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 49 in Rapid City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Rapid City
Days Inn Rapid City
#16 of 49 in Rapid City
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1313 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6956 (Formerly Dakota Pines Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $36 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Pines Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing