We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Molly's Manor!”
Review of Molly's Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Platte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molly's Manor B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Platte B&B and Inns
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Molly's Manor!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times when in town for family events and holidays. Every stay is wonderful. With two little kids it is hard to cramp with all the cousins at Grandmas house. Molly's Manor is a home away from home! Donna is so accommodating and easy going. We've also had family events hosted here by her - her cooking is to die for! Wake up to coffee and baked goodies, leave with a smile!! Would highly recommend for any traveler.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brae315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently my wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary in Platte, SD at Molly's Manor. The owner Donna is absolutely awesome. She was so hospitable and was great at balancing casual conversation and leaving us to ourselves to celebrate. Breakfast was awesome and because it's Platte WOW was the price right. If you're going through or traveling to Platte, SD specifically this IS the place to stay (and yes, even if it's a bunch of dudes going hunting). The owner(s) will make or break any B&B and in the case of Molly's Manor, 5 star excellence!! We look forward to coming back sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at Molly's Manor this past weekend in the middle of a long road trip between northern MN and CO. Found a jewel in the middle of the high plains. There is simply no comparison between staying at any hotel in the area vs staying at Molly's Manor. The home has had a complete make-over and the guests have access to the complete floor plan, upstairs and down. The bedrooms are upstairs with lots of windows and plenty of room. Two bedrooms have private baths, and two share a bath -- good for families. The breakfast is first class, and the proprietor is a delight. Cannot go wrong staying here. You'll think you are at home ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TractorMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Normally I am not a big fan of B&Bs since so much of the experience depends on the personality of the owner. In this case, however, the owner's touch


This is a beautifully restored property with four rooms, two with their own bathrooms (and queen or double beds) and two which share a bathroom in a Jack and Jill arrangement ideal for families (one is a queen and the other has two twin beds). There is a spacious sitting area upstairs for guest use, which includes a TV, microwave, coffee pot and small refrigerator. There are plenty of power outlets for those of us who want to remain plugged in. Wifi is free and superb.

The owner's space is not in the house, it is in a separate apartment, so the guests have the run of the whole house.

Among the lodging options in Platte, this is way ahead of the pack in quality, cleanliness, convenience and worry-free accommodations. It is located in the quiet center of the city, within easy walking distance of all you would need in Platte.

The included breakfast is hearty, delicious and enough reason by itself for a stay here. Other meals can be arranged for a very reasonable extra cost, and all manner of special diets can be accommodated with notice.

The owner, Donna, is gracious, helpful and accommodating, and makes every stay here a pleasant experience, customized to your needs. Want your room left alone, no problem. Want new towels every day? It is up to you. She is eager to provide the experience you want while you stay here.

Room Tip: My favorite room is the American Dream room. I have stayed in all of them, though, and each one has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just finished our trip to South Dakota for some pheasant hunting. We had been to Platte the year before, and had not really been happy with the lodging options, so I was searching for someplace that might be a bit nicer. Molly's Manor is unbelievable! The house has been perfectly restored, was gorgeously decorated for Christmas, and was just what we needed after long days hunting. The rooms are very comfortable, the living areas both upstairs and downstairs were perfect when we wanted to watch football games or news in the morning, and Donna's breakfast every morning was absolutely delicious.

I really can't even describe how wonderful this place is, and her rates are so reasonable, this is definitely the place to stay for all our future hunting trips. This is absolutely a hidden gem in Platte - if you have any reason to go there, this is the place to stay, without question. We'll be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: As someone else said, just be aware that two of the bedrooms share a Jack and Jill bathroom - not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berthagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Molly's Manor is located in the quiet town of Platte, SD. Just 23 miles south of I-90, it is conveniently within reach for the overnight business traveler or vacationing family. Donna Travis, the proprietor, provides a welcoming and warm greeting for her guests. The 1918 home that once served as the towns hospital, has been beautifully restored and upgraded.

There are 4 bedrooms. Three queen rooms and a room with two twin beds. Each room is equipped with a private bath. The mattresses, pillows, and linens are high quality and comfortable. Donna, provides a full breakfast for overnight guests. In addition to her ever present smile and sense of comfort for her guests, she is a great cook --willing to accomodate your special dietary needs. As a business traveler who is gluten intolerant, I highly recommend Molly's Manor.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly's Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly's Manor B&B

Property: Molly's Manor B&B
Address: 810 S Main Ave, Platte, SD 57369-2102
Location: United States > South Dakota > Platte
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For overnight accommodations, or a unique venue for your private parties and events, Molly's Manor B&B is the perfect choice. Recently renovated and remodeled, guest rooms include queen beds and private baths. Guests enjoy two large common areas to watch television or simply relax. Enjoy a cool beverage on the front porch or private patio. Full breakfast provided for overnight guests. WiFi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing