We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel staff was amazing when I was checking in as well...”
Review of Super 8 Pierre SD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Pierre SD
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    78
    100
    51
    30
See reviews for
97
56
42
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because our daughter's team was staying here on a school sanctioned event and they were potentially going to need help chaperoning kids. We arrived quite late, checked in and went to the room. A strong funky smell greeted us. It was not smoke and it was not coming from the bathroom but the area just outside the bathroom. Too tired to go argue about moving (my suspicion is we would find this in other rooms) we opened the window, turned on the bath fan and the wall heater and went to bed. The carpets should not be walked on in bare feet, The electrical outlets were nightmarishly overloaded and my flip flops literally stuck to the bathroom tile. The breakfast was well done but we never did figure out what the smell was!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shs_chix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Pierre SD, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are just as disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good stay with us. Our dedicated team works really hard to ensure that guests feel welcome and comfortable. I'm addressing your comments with them so we can ensure this doesn't happen again. Please let us know the next time you're in town so we can help ensure your next stay with us is much better

Rick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a great stay at Pierre Super 8, The Staff were wonderful they hotel was is great shape and looked nice. The beds were super comfy, much better than the days inn. The Breakfast was awesome with hot items and fast Wi-Fi. I felt very secure with the CCTV in the parking lot. i could sleep in peace with my trailer parked secured. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Pierre SD, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your time and kind words. We work hard to continue to improve and keep a high standard. we know you have a choice and appreciate your business. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, fridge, mw, hbo -
very friendly staff

The bed was really comfortable -

And Then The Breakfast -
It was the BEST we have had on our trip - and
we have been traveling for 2 + weeks.

The staff helped recommend a restaurant near by
and it was great food - a local Mexican place.

Thank U

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaH513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Pierre SD, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you Melinda for a great review, we appreciate you feedback. We know you have a choice and are grateful you choose us. We try our best and our staff work hard to ensure our guest have a wonderful experience. Our beds are just under 2 years old and are Serta 800 spring count pillow top beds. We are proud to feature these beds and will be improving our bedding later on this year to make our beds best in town. Once again thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Pierre Super 8 right in the middle of hunting season with a group of 8 foreign university students. The hotel is clean, comfortable and you can't beat the breakfast, with its extra menu items. The hotel was completely booked for the two nights we were there and it was really fun to meet hunters from all over the U.S. who were there for the pheasant season. Every staff member was friendly and made everyone feel welcome. Especially nice that this Super 8 has been completely renovated and we loved the new look! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfl0wer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, General Manager at Super 8 Pierre SD, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for choosing the Super 8 in Pierre and making us you home away fro home. We try hard to ensure we offer the best value in town and offer excellent breakfast. We are glad you tired our special rotational items during hunting season. We offered scrambled eggs and sausage patties instead of our usual hard boiled eggs and sausage gravy on top of our other delicious items. most importantly we are glad you had fun and enjoying staying with us. We hope to see you again soon and hopefully give us a 5 star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pierre hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 10 in Pierre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Pierre
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#5 of 10 in Pierre
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Pierre SD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Pierre SD

Property: Super 8 Pierre SD
Address: 320 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-2443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Pierre SD 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Pierre SD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Pierre
Super Eight Pierre
Pierre Super Eight
Pierre Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing