We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging Wallpaper, needed vacuming”
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Nice property. Friendly staff. Free shuttle around town and to the airport. Near the river and river paths. On the downside:
Room had pieces of wall paper hanging off the wall in the bedroom and bathroom. Tacky.
Also, junk on the floor (needles, pretzel sticks) showed the room cleaning (and vacuming) was lacking.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Ramkota Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

This the THE place to stay if you have a dog (and even if you don't). The room they gave us also had an exterior door facing a huge lawn area in the back of the hotel. Very reasonably priced, private, and quiet. The room was large, and decorated nicely. It was also clean.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank redlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, general manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

We have a full service hotel adjacent to the Missouri River and walking path. This ideal for pet owners who like exercise their animals. We have 151 rooms- suites and rooms with outside enterances. We don't specify the type of room designated for pets.
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My wife and I were on day 2 of a weeklong midwest roadtrip with our dog in tow and had a really nice stay here. Considering Pierre, SD is such a small town the property is huge. Pool was great, decent room service selections and the common areas looked well maintained. Room was a nice size with a desk, chairs, it was clean, furnishings looked new, TV had plenty of channels and the bathroom had newer fixtures. we also had a fridge. Our room was on the first floor and had a back door that opened to the parking lot where we had the car. This was great since I could pull up literally right at our door and unload/load in the morning--ask for it if you had a lot of stuff or kids in tow. Only negative was the check-in--both staff members weren't that friendly, offerred nothing about their property, amenities, pool or suggestions on where to eat. This one issue aside, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, general manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. Ihave addressed this issue with members of the front desk. Comments such as yours reminds us we must continueously work towards better customer service. Our entire staff is participating in the Best Western I Care program to improve our service. This program addresses our need to answer any question a guests has from things going on in our city, different sites in our area to different business of need by our guests. WE are very excited. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

My husband and I had overlapping conferences at this Ramkota. His on a Wednesday-Friday, and mine on Friday-Saturday. Needless to say, we were at the hotel for a long time!

Our room was clean, although dark. We ended up with a poolside room, which accounted for the dark part. The room was fine.

The rest of the hotel needs some TLC. We didn't bring swimsuits, but the pool looked GROSS! The water was very cloudy. I don't know if it was too many chemicals, or just dirty!

The main bathrooms by the restaurant had an out of order bathroom stall during our entire stay. This restroom had 4 stalls. One was out of order and another didn't have a working lock.

The conference facilities were nice. Most of our things were in the two amphitheatres, which had comfortable seating and good lighting.

The food served during the meals were some of the better "conference hotel" meals. One evening we had pork loin with a dijon sauce that wasn't dried out! And other good meal was a balsamic chicken breast with wild rice.

The hotel is adjacent to the walking/bike path that runs through Pierre, and was a nice way to stretch the legs during break times.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoDakMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, general manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

Our facility is attached to the Pierre Convention Center. We have 151 sleeping rooms and convention space to handle 10 people to 1000 people. We have 16 meeting rooms including the garden courtyard and two ampi - theaters. Our chef can prepare any meal even if you decide on something not on the menu. Thank you for your comments.
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

I stayed at the Ramkota for three nights in late October, 2006, during a hunting trip in the region. The hotel caters to hunters and convention attendees in the attached convention center. The rooms were basic and clean, and even came with rags for "cleaning guns, boots and dogs". Bar and restaurant were above average. Noise was a bit of a problem in the rear section of the hotel, which is adjacent to railroad tracks. For early sleepers, beware of the 10:00 p.m. "curfew siron" in Pierre!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, genaeral manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

We cater to the sportsmen during the seasons. In the spring and summer and fall, we have fishermen stay with us. We have a game cleaning building, free ice, freezer for their fish and outdoor plug-ins to charge their boat batteries. During hunting season the building can be used to clean your game. We have the rags to clean your guns and if you bring your dog or dogs they are welcome, too. Our chef will prepare your game or fish in a different variety of ways. If you are hunting or fishing with a guide and don't have transportation our couresty van is available for you to explore the city of Pierre. Thank you for your comments. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Pierre
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#5 of 10 in Pierre
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Pierre/Fort Pierre - Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1805 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pierre
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing