We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
tucson, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ramkota was very, very nice. Super quiet rooms, beautiful tasteful décor, room felt very inviting and cozy. It is close to restaurants and shopping, with easy location from hiway. The beds were super comfortable, and WONDERFUL pillows. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jannet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our facility and the city of Pierre.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    30
    19
    10
See reviews for
38
38
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was expecting a run of the mill sort of hotel but got way more than that especially with the quality of my room from the decor to the cleanliness to the annemnities (spelling?) provided. Also impressed by the pool area, it looked great although I didn't get a chance to use it as I was on business but considering bringing the family back for a weekend get-a-way! And this was a basic room! To top it off the staff at the restaurant when I went down to have dinner was fantastic, and the food delicious! I was so surprised, I really was expecting a mediocre stay and turned into something special!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back in the the summer for the recreational activities. There is kayaking, boating, hiking and fishing in Pierre. We have bikes at the hotel for the family to take out on the bike and walking path along the river. Our city is beautiful in the summer months. Again, thank you for your response.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, sd
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Pet friendly hotel. Our room was on the backside of the hotel with an outside entry. If I stayed here again I would ask for a room that did not accept pets. The room had the distinct smell of urine masked with deodorizer. There is a refrigerator in the room. Our room also had another door leading to a hallway. This hotel is like a maze trying to find the restaurant and pool. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. The prices were reasonable and we were given a $3 per person coupon upon check in to use at the restaurant. The eggs benedict was excellent. The front desk staff could be friendlier.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your response and apologize for the problem with the room. I will have maintenance shampoo all of our down and out rooms with outside entrances. We will work on our signage in the hallways, so guests can find their way around the facility. I am glad the restaurant experience was a good one.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean but everything just looks dated. The hinges and all metal in the room was rusted and the heating/cooling unit was noisy. The conference area had a horrible sewer gas smell that lasted all day. The fridge was a nice addition to have in the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmanning18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are updating our rooms with new furniture and carpets. I apologize for the odor in the convention center. We had a dry drain on the roof and we called a plumber in to find it. It took him a whille to locate it and he fixed the problem. Again, thank you for your response.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern MN
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I enjoy this hotel because it has poolside rooms, and a nice spacious pool area with a lot of tables. We had a very nice birthday party for our daughter there. However, the last two times we stayed there the water in the swimming pool was so cold that our kids could barely stand to swim in it. The first time the front desk told us that it is kept at a certain temperature but it was so cold that even the water that splashed onto the concrete area surrounding it was so cold you could barely stand to walk in it.
The second time we stayed the water wasn't much better. If the water in the pool was a decent temperature, we would always stay here because we like everything else about it. A bit reason we stay in hotels is so that our kids can swim. Unfortunately, until the water is warmer, we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uofmnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I will have maintenance turn up the temperature. It is suppose to be at 81 to 83 degrees and 84 degrees in the pool area. We will check it and make sure it is at that temperature. If it was that cold it isn't. I apologize and we will get it corrected. Thank you for your comments.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, very friendly front desk, and clean rooms. The set up of the pool are was nice also. However the restaurant staff was awful!!!! Very unfriendly. Felt like an inconvenience to them. No wonder there were not many people in there. Would not suggest restaurant and will be having McDonalds for breakfast tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firecracker1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I apologize for the service you received in the restaurant at our hotel. I assure you this isn't the standard in the restaurant. I have spoken with the restaurant manager and we will work with the servers and hostess and correct this problem.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent service from staff,restaurant and lounge hands down the best hotel I stay at and I am on the road 230 days of the year and always look forward to my stay at the Ramkota Best Western in Pierre, S.D.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. We appreciate that you choose our facility while in Pierre.
Thank you,
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Pierre/Fort Pierre - Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#7 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Property: Ramkota Hotel
Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1805 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing