We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramkota Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre(Pierre)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Pierre)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pierre)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
70
58
32
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
58
32
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskconvention centerthe riverpool areaconvention spacenorth sidelarge hotelallow dogsparking lotstaff was friendlymeeting roomin townbeds were comfortableconferencesdtimamphitheater
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 190 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Ramkota while in Pierre. They all are the same. For the most part the staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable. As far as the hotel goes, it goes along with my review of the Ramkota in Aberdeen. The rooms are dated, televisions are old, wallpaper needs to be gone, and bathrooms need some work. The Ramkota Hotels are all old- the main face lifts appeared to happen when convetion centers were attached. New Convention Centers connected to an old Hotel. The parking lot needs some work, and the Lobby needs updating. There is no "curb appeal" to the Hotel. We did not use the pool area, but that portion seemed to look nice. I would drive the extra few seconds across the bridge and stay at the Holiday Inn Express which is much newer and provides a good breakfast in the mornings. There is also a new Hotel / Convention Center being constructed across from the Ramkota- that would I look into.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hard_To_Impress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

I want to apologize and thank you for your comments. We are in the process of replacing televisions. The parking lot will be done this spring for sure. We have a ground water problem from the recent flooding along the Missouri River. When we start remodeling rooms we will remove the vinyl and paint our interior. Rick Murray -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

my wife and i stopped here on our way to Sturgis bike week. The hotel is located on the far end of town ( hwy 14/34 ) which was great for our early morning departure. The reception hostell was excellent and friendly and couldn't have been any nicer to deal with.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had a great steak dinner with a nice bottle of wine for $60!!
Bikes were protected under the hotel canopy. The rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. We had breakfast ( not included ) the next morning before heading out and again the service was good and food was very decent.
Would stay here again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for your response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Rick Murray general manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I don't understand what other reviewers like about this hotel. I came here with a small group on business, and we were all disgusted by how dirty this hotel is. My tub was stopped up, and the hotel manager had to snake out the drain. The carpet smelled like a combination of dirty wet dog and sewage. The sliding window didn't close all the way. The laundry room was right next to my guest room, and there was some sort of water leak that flooded the hallway carpet. Rather than putting up cones or warning guests that the carpet was wet, the hotel did nothing. I walked out of my room in socks to get some ice, and completely drenched my socks in the dirty water. Others in my group had similar negative experiences with their guest rooms. The only nice things I can say are that the staff was very friendly and pleasant, and it has a restaurant onsite. For our next trip, we stayed at the AmericInn 30 seconds away in Ft. Pierre - it's fairly new and very clean - much nicer accommodations, and the price was less than at the Best Western Ramkota.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doylej79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

I apologize for the condition of the hotel. We will work harder on cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. there is no excuse for this to happen and we will work harder so it does not. Rick Murray- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spent one night here just passing through the area on a recent road trip. It is located next to the river and across the street from a nice park, which under normal circumstances would be a plus. With recent flooding, however, both the park and river were inaccessible. The hotel itself had not been impacted by flooding, other than having some of its parking area blocked off. It was perfectly fine, including our breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for your response. The parks will be open this summer. The city and our hotel will be repairing damages from the after affects from the flood. Rick Murray general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Loved the room when we arrived and front desk staff very friendly. We came mainly for the kiddie pool and because family said this was the best hotel to stay at in Pierre. That said we were very disappointed to come home on night s 2 and 3 to find room exactly as we had left it with bed unmade, bath room messy with wet towels and washcloth in shower hanging and floors not vacuumed. (the first morning we just asked for clean towels as we were still showering when maid came). They offer no free breakfast so no I don't feel it's a good value. It was also very damp in room with sheets damp also possibly due to the unfortunate flooding in area. It appeared that someone had been there as we had an express check out receipt on sink counter but room was not kept up.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileenintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for you response concerning your stay with us. I apologize for the neglect of our housekeeping department. We have had classes working with the housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen. The humidity problem will not happen this year with the dry conditions. Rick Murray general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews