We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy and moldy!!”
Review of State Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pierre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
State Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
1 review
“Filthy and moldy!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was filthy. There were hairs the bed, food on the carpet and a thick layer of dust layer on the furniture. The worst however was the mould in the bathroom. We couldn't bear to step in the shower. There were holes in a pillow case. There was also what looked like a blood stain on one of the curtains. Very basic, I would never stay here again. I'm very surprised that the health department has not shut this place down.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooljj701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

No pool or fitness center;is now closed . Conintental breakfast not open until 7am ;this is late for fishermen, Clean, comforable ,quiet location .room available for boats./trailors. Coffee maker in room didn't work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I booked this motel over the phone. My husband and 3 young grandsons wanted a reasonably priced motel with a pool. We could not have been more pleased! The pool was larger than most motel pools and there was a nice whirlpool and a working sauna! The continental breakfast even had the waffle maker!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I booked this room knowing that it was older and the low price probably reflected that fact. I was right. The rooms are paneling and the bathrooms are very small. The beds were hard and the rooms are pretty much just sleeping rooms. No coffee makers in the room. But,....it worked for us. We just needed a place to crash after our long day fishing. I think this a great place to stay if a tent is not for you nor is one hundred a night.... I will say this...the moring breakfast was really poor.....but hey....its a place to sleep with pool and hot tub (which worked and was clean) so you decide..i'm not going back but it did work enough for us to stay three nights....ok...over and out for now! PS>> my teenager said, "no more motels that are shaped like a horseshoe!!))) lol... good luck

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landlockedwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Nothing fancy but rooms were very clean. It is a older hotel but well worth the value. It has a pool and whirpool. We stayed for 5 nights. The manager is super friendly. Great place to stay.

  • Liked — Super clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Older hotel, it has nothing fancy
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.8 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 10 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Pierre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Pierre/Fort Pierre - Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Motel

Property: State Motel
Address: 640 N Euclid Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-1702 (Formerly Budget Host State Motel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State Motel is a locally owned and operated facility conveniently located on Hwy 14/83 in Pierre, SD. Each room is equipped with wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, and HBO. Weekly and monthly rates available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing