We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon

Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Pierre
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had the filet mignon here and it did not disappoint. Looks like a dive from the outside, but the food is good and the prices reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StarGazer55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You better not screw up a steak in South Dakota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Mad Mary's did not. Delicious New York strip. A locals favorite located in the heart of downtown Pierre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank columbiascjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The outside of this restaurant isn't much but you'll be glad to decided to give it a try. A locals favorite. Everybody seemed to know everybody. Filets were cooked perfectly. The tin potatoes are awesome. Some of the best potatoes I've ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappinGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Neat Little Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a quaint setting with good food. the prices were pretty good. We had the Prime Rib Sandwich with an excellent cup of French Onion Soup. Very tasty. The Amaretto Strawberry Daiquiri was pretty awesome too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish the food was as good as the Story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for supper on the way through. Loved the Mad Mary back story, the food was good, not great. Our table was dark and it was very warm where we were sitting, so atmosphere got downgraded for us. Still, we were glad we checked it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doverlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing