We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay at the River Lodge was very good. They had just recently put in new carpet and painted the walls and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was a little too firm and better mattress covers are my only recommendations. The staff was very helpful and for the price you can't beat this location. Would definitely stay here again if passing through Pierre!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, We try hard to ensure we give our guests the most bang for their buck. We provide better lodging than most of the name brand hotels in town at a lower rate. We are locally operated and locally owned and thrive to ensure our guest have a great experience. Thank you for staying independent and keep our local economy Strong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here on our wasy to Sturgis for the Rally and were pleasantly surprised. Is in a great location - walking distance to everything. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was great - friendly and helpful. After a long hot ride on the motorcycle, they got us checked in quickly and had fresh cookies, lemonade and - best of all - ice cold beer! (no extra charge). There were buckets and cleaning supplies to wash the grime off the bike... Breakfast was standard fare, nothing spectacular, but nice just the same. Rates were reasonable, especially appreciated when everyone else in SD seems to really jack up the room rates during the rally. (and everthing else as well). This is not a 5 star property but doesn't pretend to be. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side, first floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We appreciate our guests taking time out of their busy scheduled to write a great review. My team works very hard to ensure we keep our standards high and consistent so guests get the excellent experience they expect from us time and time again. We pride our self’s in been a locally owned and operated independent hotel with better than most franchise standards. We have made many improvements in the last few months and have many more to come. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon on your next visit in town and hopefully give us 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived during the weekend leading up to Bike Time in Sturgis so the town was full of motorcycles and we were afraid it might be noisy but we heard nothing in our room in the back of the motel. This is not a luxury place but very clean and you can see they are doing their best to improve. They had 6 new air conditioners waiting to be installed. The beds were not the best but we slept good. Our only complaint, if you can call it that, was the breakfast area. When we went down there was a large group of people there so we couldn't sit and have breakfast, we took something back to the room, ate, loaded our cars, went back to check out and the same people were sitting there chatting. Not the motels fault, just inconsiderate people. They were there over 1/2 hour drinking coffee and my husband didn't even get any coffee with his breakfast because there was none made. The afternoon cookies were a nice surprise. Overall, this is a nice place at a reasonable price. Front desk people very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for such a great review, we appreciate you taking your time and sharing your great experience with others. We try hard to ensure we exceed our guests expectation and we glad we met yours. Thank you for your business, We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was an unexpected pleasure. We researched and found it to be much less expensive than the other chain hotels in the area. We were a bit apprehensive upon check in, but found the very pregnant young lady at the front desk very helpful and very friendly. She even helped us with calling Expedia about our reservations that were mixed up (and I think it was my fault). The rooms were every bit as clean, roomy, new and nice as any Holiday Inn or other chain and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. As a matter of fact, we'd deviate from our travels to stay there rather than somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us~and that you would choose to stay here again in the future. We welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was large, everything was very clean and well kept. The parking was a little tight, lots of boats and we had a small camper trailer but did find room. Just a block from the river and a very nice, large park to walk in. Breakfast had the usual waffles and fruit, cereal but also sausage and biscuits the day we were there. Staff was friendly enough. Very nice, would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelloverMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for such a great review, we appreciate you taking your time and sharing your great experience with others. You visited us during busy fishing season and parking can get tight but we try hard to ensure our boats only park in out reserved boat parking. We try hard to ensure we exceed our guests expectation and we glad we met yours. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travel via motorcycle...we stayed two times...on the way to and from Sturgis, SD. The rooms were very clean and well tended. The breakfast was fresh and the area clean. The stay was priced well for the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for being a recent guest of the River Lodge during your trip across South Dakota and for leaving feedback about your time with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and had a pleasant stay overall. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to our state!...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for the second time this weekend. Front desk people were not overly friendly, but were cordial. Rooms are very clean and it is a great deal for what you get. Rates are low and it is right on the main drag. Breakfast is good and has several options. If you are in to fishing and hunting they have a freezer for your use. They even give you a little towel to wipe boots, makeup or equipment with. My only complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable but bother give you plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick P, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank You for your Review, We appericiate your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 10 in Pierre
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#4 of 10 in Pierre
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pierre/Fort Pierre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Pierre
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre

Address: 713 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-1856 (Formerly River Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range: $62 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Baymont Inn & Suites of Pierre SD. We are a mid sized 47 room locally owned and operated hotel. The hotel is under new ownership and is becoming better than ever. We just recently upgraded our high speed wireless internet to be even faster and stronger than before and our business travelers love it. All our rooms apart from our economy rooms now have microwaves and fridges with many rooms having a spacious freezer compartment right in your room. We also have a large freezer if you need to use a bigger one too. We have just finished upgrading our lobby area with large flat screen TV, new lighting and an upgraded breakfast menu. For breakfast we now feature fresh baked cinnamon rolls, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh make-your-own malted waffles, four different types of cereal, different types of bagels, toast bar, donuts, English muffins, different flavored instant oatmeals, yogurt, fresh orange juice, fresh coffee, herbal teas. In the afternoon join us for a fresh baked cookie reception with fresh baked cookies daily with either ice cold lemonade during the hot summer days or hot coffee and tea during the colder days. No matter what the weather is we always have hot coffee in our lobby for our guests. We have started to upgrade our rooms with the latest and the greatest with many rooms now featuring high efficiency AC units, CFL bulbs in all our rooms to help save our environment, new BIG 42" HD LED TVs for your viewing pleasure and i-Phone docking station alarm clock radio so you can wake up to your favorite music in our new executive rooms. Stay tuned to our face book page to see all our latest improvements. All our rooms now feature our new upgraded bathroom amenities and bedding, Coffee makers, hair dryers, Iron and Ironing boards, Writing desk and lamp, and many rooms feature comfy relaxing arm chairs for you to relax in and read a book if you choose. We have plenty of Boat Parking with plug-in, truck and trailer parking and special Motorcycle parking and bike wash during Sturgis Rally week. Many of our rooms on our upper floor have a River view. We have 24-hour desk service, valet laundry service if you need and a business center with high speed internet with fax and copy service. Choose the Baymont Inn & Suites for your next stay in Pierre and experience true home town hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing