We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Watertown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple but clean and affordable”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and enjoy the quiet, clean rooms at a very affordable price. There is a pool and continental breakfast, which when you are traveling with kids is a necessity.

We return to this hotel every time we are in the area and plan to again this weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bzymomx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write.
We are a simple place and a locally owned and independent hotel. We work hard to give the guest the best for the money.
We have just installed water saving devices on showers and faucetts to help the environment and stay with our green plan.

Talk to you next time your in town
John Poncelet
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
18
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I and her brother and his wife had a good experience ... We were there for a fishing trip and the guide booked us into the Governor's Inn ... We had a great trip and caught our limit etc. ... the hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, including freezing and storing our fish ... The cleaning staff was extremely friendly ... Room was clean, had great AC and nice TV. Great rate too! I don't review restaurant or room service here because we didn't use those services, but i can't imagine they don't measure up as all the other services do ... We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and everything went well, so glad we could help with your lost and found items. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the staff they appreciate knowing what they do is noticed.
I know you did well fishing and hope you will come back next year. Walleye fishing has been great on Lake Oahe and the Missouri river.
Thanks again

John Poncelet
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, NE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Governor's Inn was recommended to us as the best place for your money in Pierre. We agree whole heartedly. We have stayed there several times when "just passing through." Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms at an excellent price. Friendly, helpful staff and a delicious free breakfast. The Belgium Waffles and Biscuits and Gravy really hit the spot. Cable TV is good and the Free WiFi works very well. Also, really appreciated the in-room coffee. Will definitely stay again when traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. And thanks for noticing all the hard work that our housekeepers do nobodys perfect but they keep trying.
We do have a pretty good breakfast and get a lot of good comments on it.
We are working on some improvements for this fall by combining some rooms into bigger rooms more of a family room.

Thanks again and see you next time.
John Poncelet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Standing Company custom-manufactures The Superstand Standing Wheelchair in Saginaw, Michigan. Subsequently, I travel nearly 80,000 miles a year showing our standing wheelchair to hospitals, vocational rehabs, VA hospitals, and actual chair-users. On my first trip to Pierre (pronounced PEER, just in case you go there sometime!), South Dakota, my only CLC option was The Governor's Inn. While The Governor's Inn is somewhat old, and plain-looking on the outside, I found it just the opposite on the inside.

I learned through my two-night stay that John (co-owner) had worked in the hotel business for over 20 years, and finally can use that expertise as an owner. John and all of his employees were quick to smile, quick to answer my questions, and very polite. As a frequent traveler, that kind of personal style goes a long with me. The room was spartan but clean.
Comfortable recliner chair plus an excellent cable tv package that includes Turner Classic Movies and ME-TV (Memorable Entertainment Television) made it hard for me to try and do work at night. Good shower pressure and lots of towels. The continental breakfast was well presented and attended to by employees. Another employee came by to offer a free newspaper.

Lots of stuff to do in the immediate area, and the staff was good at explaining local happenings. A beautiful river walk (along the Missouri River) is just across the street, and there a good local dining options (i.e. like prime rib? Head to the Cattleman's Club, a few miles east of Pierre, for a juicy and monster-sized entree).

For my (our company's) money, The Governors Inn is a real good deal.

Raymond Maczik, VP
The Standing Company
Saginaw, MI

Room Tip: Ask for John the owner. He is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Ray
Thanks for the great review I hope your sales efforts went well and i will pass that info on to others that chair looks like a great product and should be very usefull.
My staff has always been very helpfull and willing to talk to people, meeting new people, talking and taking care of people is what they like to do.

Thanks
John Poncelet
Owner/ gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very friendly staff greeted us when we checked in and made us comfortable. The hot breakfast was awesome! Something for everyone-even picky kiddos! Very clean, nice pool, close to attractions, updated kitchen and conference rooms. I have stayed for business and my family has joined me there for the weekend too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It's always a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We have worked on several new projects like flat screen tv's, some new beds and bedspreads. Always working on improving things and making the guest exprience better.
Thanks and see you next time.
John Poncelet
Owner/Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garretson, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

When ever in Pierre, SD we stay at the Governor's Inn. The staff is always friendly and very helpful with things to do in Pierre.

Breakfast is above average and the rooms are nice and clean.
We always have a great stay when we go there.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for noticing that our breakfast is better then avg with biscuits and gravy and waffles and several other items. And that the housekeepers work so hard to keep things clean. I will share your comments with the staff.
Thanks
John Poncelet
Owner and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently started staying overnight in Pierre once every two weeks. When I searched for a Corporate Lodging hotel, this is the only one shown, so it is where I stayed.

The first thing I noticed when walking into the room was a green pillow with a stain that looked like male bodily fluid. Then when I opened the drapes, I noticed how dirty the tops of the drapes were. Obviously, attention to detail is severely lacking here.

On my second overnight trip to Pierre (today), I didn't make a reservation. They have "VACANCY" on their reader board and the parking lot was empty last time, so I didn't think anything of it.

Unfortunately, when I arrived, I was greeted by a rude front desk agent who informed me that they have no rooms available. This was AFTER confirming that I was "in town on business" and "only for one night". i.e. "We don't have a room available for YOU." She said there is a 4-H BB gun event going on?! *See the provided photo of what their parking lot apparently looks like when they are "full".

I thought I was S.O.L since (I thought) this is the only CLC hotel in town. I decided to call CLC to find out where the closest town with an approved hotel was, and they informed me that The River Lodge (directly across the street) is a CLC hotel. They called and confirmed that they had a room available, and I just checked in.

This place is MUCH nicer. I will be staying here from now on, and I would suggest the same to all other CLC folks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for bring these housekeeping items to our attention and they have been taken care of.
We had a busy weekend and it changed all day long, we would be full one hour and have a open room the next. We didn't turn you away just for the fun of it, the parking lot may have been empty at the time but they were here.
We had some soccer, national guard and 4-h shooting sports all great groups.

Sorry about the way things went down.

John Poncelet
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pierre hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Pierre
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#4 of 10 in Pierre
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 10 in Pierre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Pierre

Property: Governor's Inn - Pierre
Address: 700 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-1857
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor's Inn - Pierre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Inn is located in Pierre, the state capital of South Dakota.In 2016 We have refreshed all the rooms with new beds, bed spreads, new carpet in every room and painted every room and bathroom.We provide a Family friendly environment, and Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast featuring Belgium Waffles, Biscuits & Gravy, Muffins, Bagels, yogurt, other varieties of food items,Coffee, juice& milk. All Rooms have Wi-Fi & hard wired internet, mini-frig & microwaves,32 inch flat screen TV's, coffee,hair dryer, iron. Other amenities include an outdoor grill, Large Heated In-Door Pool w/accessible lift,Hot Tub, exercise room, guest laundry, & patio area. Meeting spaces available for family reunions, banquets,business and parties. we also have a larger parking lot for boats & trailers and medium size trucks. We are located on Hwys 34-83-14 close to several local restaurants & chain food places. We are one block from the Missouri river, Lewis & Clark Trail, 52 miles of walking & biking trails, boat access areas & Pierre's convention center. You will find some of the best Walleye Fishing, Canadian Geese & South Dakota Pheasant Hunting in the world right here! Attractions: State Capital, Fighting Stallions, War Memorial,SD Discovery Center,Cultural Heritage Center, Casey Tibbs Rodeo Center,Buffalo Interpretive Center,Farm Island Recreational Park,national Guard museum,& 3rd largest earth rolled famous 'Oahe Dam'. 24 Hour Customer Service & A Great Hospitality Greeting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Governor's Inn - Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing