We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pheasant Hunters Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
“Pheasant Hunters Paradise!”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Anyone that wants to be spoiled by excellent service from what has to be one of the friendliest hotel staffs in the country should book a stay at this wonderful hunting retreat. Every member of the staff from guest check in to hunting guides as well as the customer service coordinator made our stay as fun and comfortable as possible.

And the real reason we were there was the Pheasant hunting which was spectacular!!

Our group consisted of 12 shooters, all decent shots, and we had no trouble getting our limit before noon each day thanks to the exceptional hunting guides that put us on more birds than I have ever seen. The guides also had plenty of great dogs that made the toughest of retrieves look easy. All around great work, the best out there as far as we were concerned and lots of fun.

The lodge offered picturesque views as well as plenty of places to relax and visit. It was a weekend of football viewing in the evening as well as spirited competition in the huge game room. But the favorite hangout had to be the "cigar room" that was well stock with after dinner drinks that we keep chilled on the ice bar while we watched TV and enjoyed cigars after our evening meal.

Speaking of dinner, the food that Chef Daniel prepared would rival any world class restaurant. Three meals per day accompanied by great wine as well as appetizers before supper that were all themed around the lodge and its location such as Walleye bites and Pheasant dip.

I would recommend this experience for anyone, hunter or not, you will enjoy your stay and be looking forward to the next time you can make it back to Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge just like we are.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2010

What a great place. Pheasant hunting is fantastic. All of the staff are wonderful. Their goal is to make sure you are having a good time and meet all your needs. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jho4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge is a fantastic place if you like to mix the great outdoors with first class accomodations, wonderful food and friendly service.

The staff will go out of their way to meet your every need and the professional guides are friendly and knowledgeable.

Our group had a great time and we are already trying to figure how we can make this an annual meeting location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHLNHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The lodge is fantastic! Bob and Cindy run a first class, 5 star operation! Josh, Chef Daniel, Jim and the entire staff go out of there way to make the trip all it can be! Birds everywhere! For a relaxing, extremely enjoyable hunt with family and friends - this is the place. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCStagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This lodge is situated on a bluff overlooking the Missouri River created Lake Oahe north of Pierre South Dakota. The rooms are comfortable, the ammenities of the lodge are first class and the staff is friendly and attentive. I loved the setting and am a repeat guest. I have been part of fishing groups and pheasant hunting groups...it is hared to imagine anyone does it better. All equipment is new or near new and clean. Their guides are like the rest of the staff, knowledgeable and anxious to deliver a memorable experience. This is one of our favorite places to go, to fish and hunt or simply relax.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grasshopper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

If you think your hunting experiences are can't be surpassed, think again. Roping a memory at Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge is just the ticket for a 5-Star hunting trip.
The lodge itself is situated on an overlook above beautiful Lake Oahe, and the views are outstanding, as are the accommodations. i was treated with such warmth and friendship; I felt at home right away. The staff is very obliging, and knowledgeable, and Bob and Cindy take even the smallest requests into consideration. The food is superb, and the service matches. Chef Daniel Coyt prepares meals with all the guests in mind, and every meal was put together with a specific idea: big hearty breakfasts, and lunches, to get you through your hunting day, and elegant dinners, to round out the full day. The food and wine were (and are) top drawer.
I can't say enough about the hunting. In a lifetime of hunting, I had never hunted pheasant over dogs, and so I was in for a treat. The guides know their business, and they know their dogs. How any guide can handle so many shooters is beyond me, but they did it well; and did so with enthusiasm, and great big South Dakota smiles. These guys put us on the birds!
The fact that we had such a big group (50+ hunters), that had such a great time, in such a great place, says and means a lot. You couldn't ask for greater hospitality or organization, so it is perfect for a corporate outing. And you couldn't ask for better hunting. Furthermore, the Beretta Trident is always there as a reminder, that if you don't know it now, you will know, that this is a truly exceptional place. Beretta doesn't play lightly with their name.
Go rope a memory. Go hunt, go fish, go eat and relax. Because Cheyenne Ridge is sitting there under that wide South Dakota sky, just waiting for you and your friends. I can promise you that I'm going back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

These guys know how to put together an outing! Bob and Cindy are great hosts. On Saturday pheasant hunting was on the agenda. Incredible number of ringnecks! Since the hunting lodge has a membership to the private Sutton Bay golf club, I teed up Friday with others from the hunt. Golf Digest and Link’s have written great things about the Graham Marsh design, but those words really came to life when we were out there playing along the shores of Lake Oahe. I was at St. Andrew’s years back and this layout felt like being in Scotland. A few holes play over 600 yards…Hole 1 is a 661-yarder! Heck of a way to start the round! When it came to the food at the lodge, the portions were generous, and everything was wonderfully prepared. It was a September to remember!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teefore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pierre hotels
16.9 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
17.1 mi away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
387 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#4 of 10 in Pierre
183 reviews
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Pierre
95 reviews
17.0 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#6 of 10 in Pierre
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge

Property: Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge
Address: 101 Ridge Rd, Pierre, SD 57501-8305
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pierre
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class pheasant hunting is what we do best, plain and simple. Located near Pierre, South Dakota, the pheasant hunting capital of the nation, Signature Lodge is the new standard for the old wingshooting traditions of South Dakota. Selected as the first Beretta Trident Rated lodge in the world, and now holding two Tridents, our recently remodeled lodge introduces our guests to one-of-a-kind amenities and experiences. When you combine an unparalled lodge with phenomenal pheasant hunting, you will see why Signature Lodge is the perfect mix of South Dakota's rich sporting heritage and 21st century luxuries. Signature Lodge is also a fine facility for corporate meetings and retreats with ancillary activities such as our all weather, enclosed 5-Stand sporting clays course; world-class Walleye and Smallmouth Bass fishing at one of the World's finest fisheries, Lake Oahe; waterfowl hunting; varmit hunting; equestrian; Mount Rushmore day tours; and, through our corporate membership, golf at nationally renowned Sutton Bay just 20 miles north of the lodge. Cheyenne Ridge Outfitters and Lodge, Inc. owns and operates the Signature Lodge and North Platte Outpost. Experience extreme waterfowl hunting on the famed North Platte River, trophy deer and antelope hunting, as well as turkey and upland bird hunting at our outpost locations in South Dakota, North Dakota and Nebraska. The Signature Lodge is first class, all the way. Give yourself a treat and join us for and unforgettable experience at Cheyenne Ridge Signature Lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing