We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, especially during Christmas Season” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stunning Greek Revival building completed in 1910 was at first modernized and later, in 1989, restored to its original magnificence, making it the most fully restored capitol building in the U.S. Self-guided and free guided tours are available.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful, especially during Christmas Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Capitol is beautiful on its own. Add in the Christmas Season, where the Capitol has 100's of decorated trees and it is spectacular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDStateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WATERTOWN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Trees of Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a must see!! So many beautifully decorated trees of the season. We will return. Even on a cold and windy day, we found close parking and were greeted by volunteers and sounds and sights of the season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Lovely building, bad tour guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have no idea why that woman was giving tours, she didn't know anything and focused on the weirdest things. Spending way too much time showing us the Governor's portraits which were of varying quality and not paying any attention to the beautiful interiors.

I left and just walked around. If you can get a good tour guide, it really brings the building to life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Capitol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's coming up on that time of year and if you have any reason to be in or near Pierre in December, a visit to the state capitol is a must. The building is beautiful in itself, but every Christmas, the halls are lined with Christmas trees donated by organizations from around the state. The atmosphere was quiet and peaceful and the effect of hundreds of lighted trees was simply stunning.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeepClimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I loved that we could walk in and pretty ,inch have the entire place to ourselves on a Sunday morning. Just wish the passport date stamp had been available so I could have stamped my State Capitol book.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pstcrdldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing