We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a mystery”

Petrified Forest of the Black Hills
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Piedmont
Attraction details
Riesel, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a mystery”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have only seen petrified wood when I was in school. This forest has a lot of info on petrified and natural happenings in this area. I enjoyed the video, museum, and the self guided trail. The gentleman running the forest was very nice and informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thumbs down”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I thought they missed an opportunity. Though it is a self-guided tour, it appears quite contrived. I thought they missed an opportunity given the geological history of the area. This could have been an exceptional tourist/educational stop. I was also looking for opportunities to purchase some nice pieces of petrified jewelry – no such luck. The gift shop was a disappointment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbwoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eeeh”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

The petrified wood was pretty cool. The self guided tour was the best part. The shop is over priced. The movie was very boring, but the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable

Helpful?
1 Thank crystaldawnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was the biggest disappointment of our trip through the Black Hills. First of all, despite an open sign on the door, there was no one there. We had to go back down (the extremely steep) hill to the office of the campground and talk to the person there in order to get in. She said she could let us into see the petrified wood (basically a glorified nature walk), but that she would not open the museum or the explanatory movie for us. She'd give us a $1.50 off per person because of this.

So basically we paid $5 a person for a walk in the woods.

There are some good quality, interesting pieces of petrified wood along the trail, but I have to question the validity of some of the information on the handout; for example, there were two different areas that claimed to be 100 feet long, but one was quite obviously twice the length of the other. Most of the petrified wood examples are very similar, being roughly the same size and shape and the same kind of tree.

Also, without being able to see the museum, we were left without any information about why the petrified wood was there or how it had formed, which took away much of the appeal.

If we wanted, when we were done, we could have driven back down the hill yet again and gotten someone to open their "rock shop" which seemed to be mostly rocks just found around the property. We obviously didn't waste our time.

It's possible, if you have full access to everything, that this is at least mildly educational and neat. But despite visiting during normal hours on a weekend, this was apparently too much to ask, and the price is too expensive for not getting to see the entire site. Skip it; there's plenty of better things to do in the Black Hills, and lots of interesting geological quirks to see that will be a better time and less of a rip-off.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kandybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special, lots of petrified wood”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A curiosity of some interest, but nothing that unique

Helpful?
Thank friendlysdinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrified Forest of the Black Hills also viewed

 

Been to Petrified Forest of the Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing