We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Bad Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oacoma
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Bad Choice!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had made a reservation at the Oasis Inn after reading the good reviews. What we found upon our arrival was nothing like the reviews we had read. The lobby area and hallways were musty smelling. Check-in was okay though the staff was certainly not overly-friendly. We were glad to find that our room looked updated and did not smell bad like the lobby and the hallways. My brother and his family checked into the room next to ours at the same time as us. As we were unloading our luggage, my brother stopped in our room and said they found a dead bug on a bed, and they were not taking any chances and did not want to stay at the Oasis Inn. When I talked with the front desk staff about leaving with my brother’s family, the woman at the desk (I wish I had noted her name) was terribly rude. She explained that it is summer and there are bugs and proceeded to say “look, there is one now” as a fly flew around the desk. Okay – we know that, but a little bug on a bed in a hotel room is somewhat disturbing, and I have to say I have not encountered bugs in any other hotel room in which we have stayed. She was very upset about the fact that they were losing money for the night and would have to call an exterminator. The hotel staff did refund my brother, but proceeded to scold us about attempting to break the contract we had entered into when we tried to leave with them. We went to dinner and came back to settle in for the night when my son found a little bug crawling on the carpet between the beds in our room. I can’t say for sure what the bug was because it scurried off before we could capture it. At that same time, my husband had gone to get ice. He informed me that the ice dispensing area of the ice machine was completely covered with mold. One can only imagine what the interior of the ice machine was like. Regardless, we did not want to take any chances and we left the hotel. The woman at the front desk was even more upset and seemed to reprimand us for reporting the bugs to her because now they would need to have an exterminator come for 2 rooms. The level of rudeness we encountered from the woman at the front desk was deplorable. I would certainly recommend staying away from the Oasis Inn!

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Sue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Considering that we had just finished a week of camping, finding the Oasis Inn felt like the height of luxury! Our room had been recently remodeled, and you never would've known you were in the middle of nowhere. We had called ahead from the road, and they were very nice to us. We had also stopped at Al's Oasis on the way west, so we were expecting something much more rustic rather than somewhat sophisticated. They also gave us lots of pillows. My daughter even made a bed for herself with the pillows in between the 2 beds, to avoid having to sleep with her brother! However, the actual beds were quite comfortable.

We were also impressed with how quiet our room was, even next to the highway. We also liked the view out the window, since we lucked out and had a bear statue right outside!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_dsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it very much.The rooms were big we had 2 queens, a double and a twin in our room. Everyone fit nicely. The room itself had a refrigerator, hairdryer, nice beds, and 1 television. the hotel had a pool and hot tub, open until 10:30 p.m. There was a towel in the room I am guessing to wipe off a motorcycle seat or helmet. One of those unusual items in a room. The other nice thing in the room was you could digitally set the air conditioner so it did not have to run all night.

Would definitely stay again. It was also next to a restaurant, grocery store and gas station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxwatcher49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night each way on Black Hills road trip. This is a well maintained, clean old style motel just off the interstate west of Chamberlain. A neat feature is that most first floor rooms have a door directly to/from the outside parking spots and also a door opposite in the room to an interior hallway. Comfortable bed and a small refrigerator too. Complimentary breakfast room is small and there are limited options, but very good overall value. Al's Oasis next door provides a restaurant, grocery store, gas station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here on a trip out West. They have family suites with four beds and some of the rooms have large bunk beds for the kids. The pool is clean and very nice. The ladies who work there have always been very friendly and helpful. The breakfast did not have a whole lot of options, but there was the option of making your own waffles. The beds were so comfy compared to the usual hotel ones! The towels were large and fluffy. The rooms felt newly painted and were very clean. There is a duck pond and a small playground behind the hotel that my kids enjoyed. The view from the front of the hotel overlooks the Missouri River - very nice. Also, the hotel is right next to Al's Oasis Restaurant, gift shop, and a
grocery store. We would drive a few extra miles or stop a little early on a trip to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legorefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was right off of Interstate 90 with Oasis restaurant next door. We spent one night here on the way home from the Black Hills area. What we liked the most: No sound was heard from the rooms next door on either side - not even of water running or TV as in most of newer hotels. The room had an outside entry door too with a parking for your car and another that led to the hallway inside. So, the room was well ventilated and smelled fresh and clean. My friend who was given an inside room at first with only one door to the hallway refused and requested a room similar to ours. She said the room smelled musty. The person at the desk was a bit annoyed due to 2 other people waiting to be served. But, complied with the request. There was a complimentary breakfast buffet with coffee, juices, milk and cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, waffles, breads and English muffins with a toaster. There were no fruits, yogurts or hot oatmeal. Pretty basic and simple breakfast with coffee that was not one of the best. The bed was comfortable with a clean bathroom. A wash cloth was placed with a poem for wiping the windshield that truly gets messy in SD with flying insects. The staff attitude was friendly, caring and attentive. We did not use the pool.

Room Tip: Be sure to select a room with dual entry - one from the parking lot and the other from inside the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicknet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay! Just spent one night on the way to the Black Hills area, but it was worth the stop after a long day on the road. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Lots of fisherman were ther and were upstairs. Could not hear them at all. Breakfast was basic, cereal and waffles....but plenty. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oacoma
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
2.6 mi away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#3 of 6 in Oacoma
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#3 of 6 in Chamberlain
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Chamberlain/Oacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma
Address: 1100 East Highway 16, Oacoma, SD 57365 (Formerly Oasis Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Oacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a New Baymont Inn & Suites that has just opened our door on May 25, 2017. We are an upper midscale property that would love to have you be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Inn Chamberlain Hotel Oacoma
Oasis Hotel Chamberlain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing