We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass It By”
Review of Al's Oasis

Al's Oasis
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Oacoma
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This restaurant/grocery/gift shop/fuel stop/bathroom stop was suggested by one of our tour guides a few days earlier, so we decided to stop for lunch.

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the missile control center, but a food critic he's not!

The staff was cranky and wasn't even familiar with their own menu.

Service was slow, the food was lukewarm and lacked even the most basic of seasoning. I'd like to say something nice about this place, but It was so overwhelmingly unremarkable I just can't think of anything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BlueManMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel57365, Manager at Al's Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond here on tripadvisor.. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Any time there is something wrong with your meal free to ask your server for something else or ask for a manager at our facility to speak with you. I'm sure there is something we could do to turn a negative into a positive for you! Once again thank you for taking time to review Al's Oasis on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 465 of 559 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Obviously this place is in the middle of nowhere, and it was one of the few places open on the Sunday we went. However in the end we would have been better off getting fast food. Rather than being a relaxing 'oasis', Al's was a negative experience of terrible service and mediocre food, and I would have rather stayed hungry than stop and let this be our first impression of South Dakota on our way to the Black Hills. Our server was completely rude, almost yelling at us as she brought our silverware. This rudeness was not limited to just her though, but included the other staff in the restaurant with whom we interacted. We were shocked that people who work in the service industry could act in such a way, really too shocked to react and tired from driving as well. The food is nothing to mention, and rather than linger and try the dessert, we got out of there as fast as we could. We wanted to leave the place and our experience there in the dust, but felt we should warn future travelers to not waste time or expect to have a decent break at Al's Oasis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank explorergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel57365, Manager at Al's Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review here on tripadvisor. I am so sorry your experience here at Al's didn't live up to your expectations. We are always interested in hearing feedback good or bad about our facility. I will take your comments into consideration and implement them in further training for the staff. Once again thank you for your time and business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a nice place to stop for and hour or so and get an average meal. I tried the Bison burger, my wife had the single pork chop. Her peas seemed frozen not fresh, the mashed potatoes were possibly processed, but the pork chop was first rate.

The Bison burger was similar to all the others I have tried, again nothing wrong but nothing particulate right. The fries were institutional.

We finished it all off with the bread pudding which was much better than expected.

I do need to add a comment about our server Stephan, excellent. Just the right amount of attention without becoming bothersome.

To really enjoy this stop walk around the shops, pick up a road treat for later, stretch your legs, and have an average meal in clean, interesting, surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel57365, Manager at Al's Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Al's Oasis and it sounds like Stephan took good care of you! We hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant! We appreciate the feedback and your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This isn't a place to get a quick bit to eat and get back on the road. It's the place to eat when you have stopped driving for the day or are in no great hurry. We ordered the Liver and Onions with Salad Bar. Best meal of our week long trip to Glacier National Park. Atmosphere western themed. Waitress helpful, courteous and efficient serving us. Bonus gift shop and grocery store. The gift shop has the usual souvenirs plus more upscale and unique items, worth walking through too. We would stop again if driving I 90 in South Dakota.

Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel57365, Manager at Al's Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Linda
Thank you so much for your response on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you had a nice visit to Al's Oasis! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If your traveling to the black hills its your last chance at decent food till Wall. If you are traveling east from the Hills its still ok. Next good stops won't be till Mitchell about an hour east. Had the burger and fires, it was ok, not great. The pie is very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel57365, Manager at Al's Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Robert

We appreciate you taking time to post here on Tripadvisor! Thank you so much for the feedback! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al's Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing