We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo Burger's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Al's Oasis

Al's Oasis
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Oacoma
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Buffalo Burger's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Traveling across I-90 in SD and thought why not try a buffalo burger just because it's not your everyday lunch fare. Sadly to me it tasted like 90+% lean beef burger. Not sure exactly what I expected but something different than what I tasted. The rest of the shops and such are nice but full of the typical tourist stuff. Still it's a nice place to take a break.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siebreeze49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    176
    113
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

They server a great breakfast, and the wait people are very friendly and service is very good. Very clean

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dry burgers, tasted more like middle school than buffalo burgers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very dry thin prepackaged frozen buffalo and hamburger patties. Not worth the $8 a meal at all. We will be sure to never fall for the bill boards again. Cheap little frozen style french fries also. The pie of which I was too upset over the awful burgers to bother trying looked good at least. So maybe this should be just a pie and coffee place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcwifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food is ok, but a little high priced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The building is very nice and has tons of stuffed dead animals for decoration, the atmosphere is wonderful. The waitress was very attentive and friendly as well. The food was nothing I couldn't make at home. I had the buffalo deluxe burger, my husband had the chicken fried steak and the kids had mac n cheese and chicken strips. The place was pretty packed so the food took a while to get done but the decoration offered some short term entertainment for the kids. For dessert we had 2 kids' ice cream and a slice of pumpkin pie, but I was a little surprised that it came out to $50 for what we had.
Probably wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaic_Camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Recently ate here for lunch and had the salad which was good. Would definitely eat here again, There is also a store and gift shop attached to the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdhokenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Oasis also viewed

 

Been to Al's Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing