We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average...not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn North Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Average...not excellent”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

One night stay during road trip through the area. Perfectly average Hampton...I've stayed at others that were much better. Bed was good and I slept well. However, bathroom sink was slow to drain and the toilet seat wouldn't stay up (not a good thing for a male traveler). Breakfast was warm, not hot, and there was no microwave in the guest area to use for heat-up, and the attendant was nowhere to be found. Hopefully things will improve after the property remodel which is in progress. Until then, I can't recommend this particular Hampton for anything other than an "acceptable" stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Our lobby remodel is complete and the tile on the upper floors is in progress this week...we hope it will be completed soon as well.
We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest suite and that you found our On the House breakfast warm instead of hot. We will share your comments with our team and department managers for correction.
We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    44
    27
    27
See reviews for
128
78
20
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We moved away from Sioux City years ago and travel back for many events so we've stayed at many different hotels in the Sioux City area over the years. This is the only hotel that we will return to. The room was very spacious, and the bathroom was huge. I like the fact that there is a full length mirror on the outside of the bathroom door, which made getting 3 people dressed for a wedding much easier. The beds were great, this is the first time I've slept a full 8 hours in any hotel. The hotel was booked solid but we didn't hear any noise all night. The breakfast was awesome and did change slightly every day so that was nice. The pool and hot tub were also great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn on your recent stay in the Sioux City area, we truly appreciate your business and we are so glad we were able to make your stay outstanding. We all look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place to stay. Helpful staff and good location. We became members of Hilton Honors due to the managers welcome and all the helpful information we received. The complimentary breakfast was really good and the room was exceptional. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn on your recent stay in the Sioux City area, we truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hampton Inn's are always one of my favorite places to travel as a family and this hotel met all my expectations. The pool area was just what my family needed on our travels. The room was clean and comfortable. It was nice to have flavored water available in the lobby - a very elegant touch. And the Front Desk staff were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roshelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn on your recent stay in the Sioux City area, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay, we truly love having you here. We all look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've thought long and hard about how to write this review. I ended up going with average as while the good was great, the bad was terrible.

First off, the hotel is easy to find and has close convenient parking. There was some equipment (from the renovations?) in the parking lot which made it look a bit dumpy. The hotel is situated in a bit of an odd area in that there is not much around it by way of restaurants or shops. Eating choices in the immediate vicinity are fast food or gas station and a so-so pizza joint a couple miles down the road.

Like another reviewer I found it odd there was not an automatic entrance door, but I've come across the same thing at a few other hotels during my travels, so it didn't make a huge difference. The lobby area was very nicely decorated and comfortable. You could tell it had been updated recently. The front desk staff wasn't at the desk when I arrived, so I followed the instructions and pushed a button, to which they responded within about 30 seconds. I was welcomed as a gold member, but not provided with an automatic upgrade (I was given a whirlpool room upon asking). The manager that checked me was very pleasant and personable and it was evident she took a lot if pride in her work and wanted to make my stay exceptional.

The room was large and nice that it had a bed room and separate sitting area. The whirlpool was very comfortable and CLEAN (no stray hairs or film... Trust me, I looked before filling it up with water). The decor is definitely old and needs to be updated, but bottom line was everything appeared to be clean. Hopefully they'll start renovating the rooms to match the lovely lobby area.

Unfortunately the days I was there the area was having a massive heat wave and the AC unit just could even make a dent in oppressive heat. My room was stifling and humid to the point it was physically unpleasant and I was dripping with sweat. Seriously the heat and humidity in the room was so oppressive, I felt almost faint sometimes. Lucky for me I had the clean whirlpool which I ended up filling with cool water and sitting in order to cool down. In spite of the horrible heat I want to point out that hotel staff did everything they could to make it more comfortable, when I called down to ask for a fan, it arrived a minute later. The fan helped with the heat, but it was still too hot to do much. At one joint I propped open my room door to try to get some air flow from the lobby (which was cooler than my room).

In spite of the heat and lack of a fully functioning AC I slept fantastic. Much better than I had at other hotels that week. There's something about Hampton beds ... I sleep great in them.

I must have had the breakfast, but I don't recall much about it so I'd say it was satisfactory. Nothing really bad or really good to make me remember it either way. On my way out the next morning the front desk staff was friendly and acted like they remembered me. They really showed an interest in making sure I was comfortable there.

I was scheduled to stay for two nights but ended up heading out early since my work took less time than expected. To be honest, if the AC had worked and the temperature in my room hadn't been so extreme, I likely would've stayed another night. As it was, I just couldn't handle the heat without any relief. It's unfortunate though because all of the staff was so friendly and inviting it made me want to stay.

The bottom line on this hotel is while the room decor and lack of fully functioning AC made the room miserable, the wonderful staff and the great night's sleep pretty much evened out the bad, which is how I ended up going with an average rating. Had the AC worked and the room been more updated, I'd have given 5 stars. On the flip side, had the staff not been so pleasant and caring and sincere, I would've given only 1 star.

I would probably stay here again if it was during the winter or if I could be sure their AC was working

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am sorry that your experience at our Hampton Inn was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeClaire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just stayed one night on my trip home. Hotel is very clean, room is very nice. I had a very large room with a great King size bed. One of the best nights sleep on my trip. I first stayed here last year, my stay this year was just as nice, I'll use this Hampton again the next time I'm traveling through the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn on your recent stay in the Sioux City area, we appreciate your business and happy we made a special connection with you. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for an excellent hotel then you need to stay here. Easy to find, quite and not on a busy highway, beautiful decorations, great places to eat right down the road, and the breakfast is the best in any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank travelisfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evemendez, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn on your recent stay in the Sioux City area, and allowing us the opportunity to be of service to you. We all look forward to seeing you next time you are staying in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sioux City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dakota Dunes
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn North Sioux City
Days Inn North Sioux City
#4 of 4 in North Sioux City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.2 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Sioux City South
Super 8 Sioux City South
#6 of 19 in Sioux City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn North Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn North Sioux City

Property: Hampton Inn North Sioux City
Address: 101 Sodrac Dr, North Sioux City, SD 57049-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > North Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn North Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hampton Inn North Sioux City hotel. Conveniently located off I-29 and just minutes from Sioux City IA, our hotel in North Sioux City, SD, offers a great base to explore the many attractions in the area. Peruse the amazing collection at the Sioux City Art Center, Public Museum, Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center, take in a great performance at the restored Orpheum Theatre or the Tyson Center or take a drive and visit Blue Bunny's Ice Cream Capital of the World Visitor Center and learn about America's favorite frozen treat. Discover everything from shopping and golfing to casinos and museums - you'll find it all in North Sioux City! Make yourself at home in a comfy guest room at our Hampton Inn City hotel near Sioux City. Relax and watch TV, or catch up with work using the free WiFi internet access. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, and make sure you try our famous waffles. If you're in a rush for breakfast, take a healthy Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, with you as you leave the hotel. Surf the web or print boarding passes in our business center. After a long day, rejuvenate in our free fitness room or make time to relax by our indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn North Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Sioux City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing