We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in scary location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn North Sioux City
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel was clean, and the room was large. The price was also right, but that is about the end of the positives. The location in North Sioux City is pretty scary. The room, though large was kind of outdated with very thin walls - could hear every step of the people above us.
The front desk staff did not welcome us at all and basically ignored us until housekeeping intervened on our behalf.
Overall would recommend staying away from north sioux city if possible.

Room Tip: top floor a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estevenson, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

I’m so glad you enjoyed your large and fresh guest room. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I’ve alerted the front desk staff to your feedback to ensure better guest service. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is your average Hampton Inn. The location is not the best for places to eat but it is easy to find and near the highway. The room was clean and comfortable. The lobby was clean as well as the common area and breakfast area. The help were all very nice. The young lady at the check in desk made a point of telling us that if we were not satisfied that we would not be expected to pay for our room. We had no problems at all. I would stay here again if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estevenson, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn while traveling throughthe Sioux City area. We appreciate your business and hope that we will see again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Opening the door to our room was an excellent surprise! Our bed was a king sized with pillow-top, there was a couch, stair-step excercise equipment, a whirlpool with rolled up towels for our use, wide screen t.v, several pillows neatly placed on our bed with a smaller one as well. Everything was clean, spacious, and everything in its place!

Room Tip: Get a whirlpool room which has all the convieniences one could ask for!!Very well worth the money sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estevenson, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

And you have ours! We love to hear all comments and are glad to hear we helped seal your vote. I hope we can be of service to you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stay in lots of Hampton Inn's and this is the first one where the hostess in the breakfast area, never cracked a smile, never said hello, moved like a snail, cold oatmeal, stale coffee, had to be asked to bring out more food, spent more time watching the clock then taking care of her job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This Hampton Inn is at an exit with not a lot to offer, very few places to eat, not many businesses. But we just needed a place to stop for the night, so it didn't matter to us as long as the hotel was clean and comfortable. It is definitely that and more. Our room was large, clean, well decorated, and very comfortable. My husband loved the chaise; it was a great place to relax after a long drive. The bathroom was spacious, clean, and the shower was great. The room was so quiet and the bed slept great. The breakfast offered the usual cereal, waffles, yogurt, bagels, toast and pastries. But there were also hot offerings such as eggs, sausage, hot oatmeal with a choice of toppings (mixed dried fruit, brown sugar, slice almonds), a fruit compote of citrus, pineapple, and grapes, and some of the best coffee I have ever had at a hotel. We had no complaints and would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you read any of my hotel reviews, you know that I'm a runner who travels for work. I picked this hotel based on other reviews and a bargain rate (most Hamptons I stay in are $120/night). I didn't realize that this hotel is in SD, about 10 minute drive from downtown Sioux City IA where I was visiting for work. It's surrounded by little casinos and fireworks stores, but pretty quiet despite the neighborhood. Not much in dining options either, your best bet is to go back into downtown Sioux City.

It is clean and the staff is nice. My room was as utilitarian as other Hampton Inns, but the fitness room was TINY! About 8x12 and only had a barely working stationary bike, a treadmill and a cable-pulley weight system. There wasn't even room for me to lie on the floor for some of my exercises and stretches. Oy.

Also, there isn't much in the way of outdoor running off of exit 2, as the feeder road doesn't even have shoulders or bike lanes. I didn't want to venture too far since I was unfamiliar with the area, therefore kept to the bike machine while staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estevenson, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Sioux City, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hampton inn while in the Sioux City area. Our fitness room is a little small atthis time. We are planning to expand the space and add more machines and have floor space for stretching and yoga, hopefully by the end of this year.
There is a great running path that starts right across the street from the hotel, it travels north for 2 miles, then turns into a roadway the follows around the lake over to the Adam's Nature Preserve where there are many more miles of clay running trails, I would recommend these running trail to all runners.
There are also several restaurants located in North Sioux City with a wide variety of offerings from pizza and hamburgers to chicken and prime rib.
We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I travel a lot on business, and always try to stay at a Hampton Inn. In addition to getting the Hilton points, I can always count on a comfortable, clean room; courteous staff; and a good breakfast. All of this at a reasonable price. The North Sioux City Hampton is no different. I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area looking for a place to spend a night or two. It's a great value, and the interstate location makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockSteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sioux City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dakota Dunes
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sioux City
Comfort Inn Sioux City
#12 of 19 in Sioux City
99 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Ce...
#1 of 6 in South Sioux City
209 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn North Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn North Sioux City

Address: 101 Sodrac Dr, North Sioux City, SD 57049-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > North Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Sioux City
Price Range: $83 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn North Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hampton Inn North Sioux City hotel. Conveniently located off I-29 and just minutes from Sioux City IA, our hotel in North Sioux City, SD, offers a great base to explore the many attractions in the area. Peruse the amazing collection at the Sioux City Art Center, Public Museum, Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center, take in a great performance at the restored Orpheum Theatre or the Tyson Center or take a drive and visit Blue Bunny's Ice Cream Capital of the World Visitor Center and learn about America's favorite frozen treat. Discover everything from shopping and golfing to casinos and museums - you'll find it all in North Sioux City! Make yourself at home in a comfy guest room at our Hampton Inn City hotel near Sioux City. Relax and watch TV, or catch up with work using the free WiFi internet access. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, and make sure you try our famous waffles. If you're in a rush for breakfast, take a healthy Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, with you as you leave the hotel. Surf the web or print boarding passes in our business center. After a long day, rejuvenate in our free fitness room or make time to relax by our indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn North Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Sioux City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing