We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old west town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Dakota's Original 1880 Town

South Dakota's Original 1880 Town
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toledo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great old west town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a really large and comprehensive re-creation of an old west town. They have lots of interesting buildings and artifacts. Some of the builings have been left in the state in which they were found. This really adds to the authentic feel of this attraction. We ended up spending more time here than we expected, because it was so enjoyable. Also, the restaurant in the train cars was pretty good. We highly recommend this attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank uncle_stu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    120
    38
    15
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Interesting place to add some variety while driving through South Dakota. There are numerous props and items from the movie "Dances with Wolves". There is also a town that would be representative of what an 1880s town would have looked like, including a saloon where you can buy items and dress up in old clothing and take photos.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. We ended up spending several hours here, even with it being extremely hot that day. It seemed like such a small place, looking at it from Google maps. The buggy ride was great. The driver had a story to tell & he let our teenage horse loving daughter drive the team of mules. She loved that! We looked through all the buildings & the museum (air-condidiotned). Lots to look at. There is a movie in the one building (air-conditioned). The old Saloon (air-conditioned) had a gal singing with a piano player. We sat & listened & had soda & ice cream. The piano player had a list of songs he knew & you could make requests from the list. Heard some wonderful music. There was also a diner train, but we were not there during its open hours. It was a great place to take a break from traveling for a while. There is a coupon on their website, which we forgot about. It was still worth it even without the coupon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome. For a couple of hours I felt a part of the Wild West.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I visited with 13 friends aged between 18 months and 36 years old.

Truly excellent if you're with a fun loving group who fancy getting dressed up (essential!!!) and immersing yourself in a little Wild West town.

We ended up filming gun-fights and little film scenes involving damsels in distress being tied to railway tracks. The Saloon was a particular highlight. I felt very in the moment playing poker with two friends. The music throughout the town set the tone very nicely indeed.

The costume hire (fancy dress in UK english) was very good. Indian costumes. Cowgirl outfits. As well as the usual cowboy clothes. This was such a central part of our visit that I'd encourage this to be pushed even further. The odd pretend shotgun. Pairs of spurs, etc. Bolsa wood chairs that can be smashed over people's heads in a bar room brawl (maybe going too far... but maybe not?!??). You can see the place captured my imagination :-)

This was really one of the high-lights of our two week road-trip across Wild West country.

Thanks a million!! :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great place to visit if you like to know what it was like to live in the 1880's. The whole family had fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Dakota's Original 1880 Town also viewed

 
South Dakota, United States
 

Been to South Dakota's Original 1880 Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing