We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Range Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Range Country
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a very loud family with rambunctious children above us, and could hear them running around all night. This hotel had mostly families with young children, so if you're looking for a peaceful night, you'll probably want to look somewhere else. Room itself was clean. No microwave in our room, though I think other rooms do have them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prim_rose_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
109
69
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We only spent the night here on our way to Colorado, so all we needed was a comfy bed in a quiet room. And that's what we got, but it is also a charming lodge-style hotel with a swimming pool and whirlpool. Breakfast was simple but good (in the lobby area) with cereal, blueberry muffins, toast, coffee and juice. I liked the load of taxidermied animals in the lobby. The staff was a little robotic in their "spiel" and not very outgoing when we checked out, but otherwise friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msp-photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugerties,ny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

I had a trip planned for August 2008 to this hotel, but had to cancel when my Mom became ill. I tried to cancel the reservation but they said I could cancel but would not receive any refund. Then my Mom passed away and I wasn't thinking clearly and never cancelled my room. I should add that just a day before my reseervation date I was diagnosed with pneumonia and in bed for several days. So what do they do? they charged me twice for a room I never used, it was bad enough when they wouldn't give me a refund but then to charge again! I will never use Days Inn or the wyndam company ever again. I fought and fought with them but they would not budge. The worst cusstomer service I have ever heard of.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here one night on our trip West. Have been in Murdo twice before and always stayed at Graham's Best Western. Decided on the Days Inn because it was a newer establishment and the pictures on their website looked nice AND we got a really good pre-paid internet price. All in all I think I'd pick Graham's Best Western but I'd put this Days Inn in second place in Murdo. I think their website makes the place look a bit nicer than it really is. It's an OK place that served the purpose. Would I stay again? Maybe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

The staff at this hotel were great. Very prompt answering all requests. We asked for clean towels and they arrived literally within 30 seconds.

The rooms were clean, what you would expect. The only drawback is the walls are very thin, we kept hearing slamming doors while trying to get the kids to sleep. Agree with a previous poster that the pool is heavily chlorinated, a plus is it is indoors for spring/early summer travelers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

September...Stayed at one of the nicer hotels in Murdo. They had hotel rooms and rooms in a motel atmosphere along the sides of the main building. I requested a main hotel room when we arrived. I like inside corridors when staying at a hotel. We got a nice second floor room..No elevator which wasn't a problem. Country western decour. Generally we don't stay at Days Inns so I wasn't surprised that the breakfast was alittle light...cereal,rolls. etc. but nothing hot, but filling enough. Price wasn't bad. We did want to use a microwave and they only had one way in the back of the guest laundry room. I think they could have had that in the main hotel area which would have been better access for guest. All in all after seeing Murdo this was one of the nicer of the very few hotels there. Food was alittle scare in the town. We did tour the Pioneer Auto attraction. It was worth the minimal cost for something to do in the early evening. Hotel gives a card for 10% discount. Most small towns out West are SMALL with not much to do. Only about an hr. to 1 1/2 from the Badlands so that's why we stayed there.

  • Liked — Nice, clean and new
  • Disliked — Alittle more at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheArtTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zman319
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

Room: Very clean. Linens clean.

The 'Cowboy Bedrolls' were a big hit with our 4 and 7 year olds. The bedrolls are thick, padded canvas sleeping bag-type rolls.

Pool was a smaller pre-made fiberglass type, could seem small if morethan a few people are using it. Water was crystal clear. Hot tub medium sized and also clean.

Breakfast was adequate, simple continental style.

Staff was very attentive and receptive (allowed us to switch from two queen beds to a king... see Cowbow bedrolls above).

  • Liked — Cowboy bedrolls for the kids
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murdo hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Graham's
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Murdo
Super 8 Murdo
#3 of 4 in Murdo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
American Inn Express
#1 of 2 in Murdo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sioux Motel
Sioux Motel
#4 of 4 in Murdo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Range Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range Country

Property: Range Country
Address: 302 West 5th St, I-90 Business Loop Exit 191-192, Murdo, SD 57559-0464 (Formerly Days Inn Murdo/Range Country)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Murdo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Range Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Range Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Murdo
Murdo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing