We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop if Driving Through”
Review of Range Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Range Country
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Stop if Driving Through”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel was nice. It was actually better then what I thought. We were driving through and needed a place to stay for the night. Pool was nice but needs some renovating. Nice staff with decent breakfast. Price per night was a little high for the hotel,motel.
Located in a Small town with nowhere to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    96
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
112
71
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Snead, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We kinda just happened up on this place cause we were too tired to drive anymore so we stopped in Murdo. The hotel was GREAT, very cute place with a very South Dakota cowboy feel to it. The staff was great and very accommodating. The ONLY complaint I have about this hotel is there was no elevator. We were on a 10 day road trip so we had a TON of luggage and stayed on the 2nd floor, so we had to drag our bags up the stairs. We were all fairly young and good shaped but this may a problem if you are traveling with small children or elderly people. I would just call ahead and make sure you book a room on the first floor if climbing stairs is a problem. But I REALLY loved this hotel. PERFECT!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgs0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped here on our way to MN from Yellowstone. Had meant to stop in Rapid City but no rooms. This place had good reviews so we gave them a call. Stephanie got us three rooms at a moments notice, no problem. Gave directions to find the place, and checked us in when we got there. Beds were comforable, rooms were clean and the bathroom was normal hotel/motel size. Nice having an extra sink outside the bathroom. Free Internet. Breakfast the next morning was tasty, and there was plenty to eat and to select from. If we are driving HWY 90 again and need to have a stopover, will pick this place again.

Room Tip: We stayed right up at the top of the stairs. Could not hear people going up and down, or talking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomCamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

After scouting out all other hotel choices in Murdo (and there are many), I selected this one based upon outside appearance. My discounted rate was $104. Nice, large room - king size bed. Good front desk service who gave good guidance on where to eat/drink. Breakfast menu looks good - basic but best in area (don't go to Belvidere like I did thinking there would be better lodging options - there aren't any there... )

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brendannebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleil2jours
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On our way back from Yellowstone we needed a place to stay after hours of driving, including half of the Badlands in the dark (I don't recommend that drive!). We selected Range Country based on reviews. There was nothing terrible about it, and if you're comparing it to other basic hotels then it's not bad. We stayed in the rooms across the parking lot from the main building. I would guess that is the older building and the "lodge" building is newer. Since it was midnight and all we did was throw a few things in the mini fridge, brush our teeth and sleep it suited out needs but than so would any other hotel. We were looking forward to the "hot" breakfast the next morning. I wouldn't set your expectations too high. They did have sausage and some kind of egg squares but not exactly the scrambled eggs I was hoping for. We didn't have time for a the pool and never saw it, but it must have been the building out back and it looked newer unlike our room. The room itself was large but seemed to be missing something, like a strange space that would have had a couch. The air conditioners (there was one at each end of the room) were a little noisy but I set the one by the bed on the low setting and the other higher thanks to a review I'd read. It was a bit tired but clean which is all I really cared about and plenty of hot water the next morning for a shower. For one night it wasn't bad and we probably would have liked it better if we'd had time to swim.

Room Tip: I would ask about the rooms in the newer building or the cabins to the east of the lodge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleil2jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville Minneota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my second visit to the Range Hotel in the past 3 years, and I will be visiting again every time I stop in Murdo. The rooms are very nice, nice swimming pool and hot tub. The rooms and hotel in general are very clean, and the rates are reasonable. We were a little late for the morning breakfast, but was able to enjoy a delicious breakfast anyway. The staff of this small, family owned hotel were very friendly and courteous. If you choose the Range Country Hotel, I think that you will be pleased.
Royal D. Loven
Swanville, Minnesota

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped in here because it was dark and we weren't sure when we'd hit the next town. Very clean room and bathrooms. Comfortable beds, very friendly staff. Great continental breakfast in a beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murdo hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Graham's
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Murdo
Super 8 Murdo
#3 of 4 in Murdo
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sioux Motel
Sioux Motel
#4 of 4 in Murdo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
American Inn Express
#2 of 2 in Murdo
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Range Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range Country

Property: Range Country
Address: 302 West 5th St, I-90 Business Loop Exit 191-192, Murdo, SD 57559-0464 (Formerly Days Inn Murdo/Range Country)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Murdo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Range Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Range Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Murdo
Murdo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing