We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Murdo - but you'll pay for it”
Review of Range Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Range Country
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska USA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best choice in Murdo - but you'll pay for it”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

After scouting out all other hotel choices in Murdo (and there are many), I selected this one based upon outside appearance. My discounted rate was $104. Nice, large room - king size bed. Good front desk service who gave good guidance on where to eat/drink. Breakfast menu looks good - basic but best in area (don't go to Belvidere like I did thinking there would be better lodging options - there aren't any there... )

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brendannebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
72
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
soleil2jours
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On our way back from Yellowstone we needed a place to stay after hours of driving, including half of the Badlands in the dark (I don't recommend that drive!). We selected Range Country based on reviews. There was nothing terrible about it, and if you're comparing it to other basic hotels then it's not bad. We stayed in the rooms across the parking lot from the main building. I would guess that is the older building and the "lodge" building is newer. Since it was midnight and all we did was throw a few things in the mini fridge, brush our teeth and sleep it suited out needs but than so would any other hotel. We were looking forward to the "hot" breakfast the next morning. I wouldn't set your expectations too high. They did have sausage and some kind of egg squares but not exactly the scrambled eggs I was hoping for. We didn't have time for a the pool and never saw it, but it must have been the building out back and it looked newer unlike our room. The room itself was large but seemed to be missing something, like a strange space that would have had a couch. The air conditioners (there was one at each end of the room) were a little noisy but I set the one by the bed on the low setting and the other higher thanks to a review I'd read. It was a bit tired but clean which is all I really cared about and plenty of hot water the next morning for a shower. For one night it wasn't bad and we probably would have liked it better if we'd had time to swim.

Room Tip: I would ask about the rooms in the newer building or the cabins to the east of the lodge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleil2jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville Minneota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my second visit to the Range Hotel in the past 3 years, and I will be visiting again every time I stop in Murdo. The rooms are very nice, nice swimming pool and hot tub. The rooms and hotel in general are very clean, and the rates are reasonable. We were a little late for the morning breakfast, but was able to enjoy a delicious breakfast anyway. The staff of this small, family owned hotel were very friendly and courteous. If you choose the Range Country Hotel, I think that you will be pleased.
Royal D. Loven
Swanville, Minnesota

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped in here because it was dark and we weren't sure when we'd hit the next town. Very clean room and bathrooms. Comfortable beds, very friendly staff. Great continental breakfast in a beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first day out on our recent family vacation found us driving 800 miles from home. We made it as far as Murdo, where we decided to stay as our jumping off point for the Badlands and the Black Hills the next day. We found room at the Range Country Motel, and it turned out to be a good decision. The room was a little small, but it was clean and functional. There was a pool for the kids, and restaurants were located nearby. The breakfast was like everything else - no frills, but workable and satisfactory for the price.
I always find it to be a bit of a gamble to stay at a hotel in a very small town along the road, but the Range Country turned out to be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms are big and very clean. The really delightful part was the well decorated lodge-style lobby/entrance with western furnishings that would be a great place to hang out with a group of friends. There were big couches around a big coffe table plus small wagon wheel tables that are used for the complimentary breakfast but could be used for games. This room was filled with many stuffed animals that are apparently part of the owner's collection from many years of hunting. He has an excellent taxidermist and the bears, deer, coyote, skunk etc. were better than I've seen in many museums. Also many other nice decorating touches. Great breakfast with eggs and sausage plus fresh fruit and good coffee. Not the typical continental breakfast with no protein. This motel also has an indoor pool and laundry and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelTBillS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

traveling from California now on a three week road trip. we found this place and were sooo thankful we did! felt very homey and welcoming. we have been staying in marriots and were just as comfortable here!! wouldn't hesitate to come back....hairdryer...flat screen....clean shower..nice bed and pillows..pool..spa..clean..comfortable...friendly and loved the 4th of July decor. ate at the star restaurant. best blueberry pie..don't judge a book by its cover. it was good!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amys31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murdo hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Graham's
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Murdo
Super 8 Murdo
#3 of 4 in Murdo
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sioux Motel
Sioux Motel
#4 of 4 in Murdo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
American Inn Express
#2 of 2 in Murdo
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Range Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range Country

Property: Range Country
Address: 302 West 5th St, I-90 Business Loop Exit 191-192, Murdo, SD 57559-0464 (Formerly Days Inn Murdo/Range Country)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Murdo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Range Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Range Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Murdo
Murdo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing