We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot in the middle of SD”
Review of Range Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Range Country
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice spot in the middle of SD”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wasn't really sure about a Days Inn - had been planning to stay at the Landmark Country Inn but after calling many times and not getting an answer I reserved a night at this Days Inn. It was nicer than I'd expected, so that is always good. We'd been traveling since 6:30am and arrived at 5:30pm so it was good to find a clean room. A basic motel room but pretty large. There was a little pool which was great for the kids.

Breakfast was cereal with some eggs and muffins and juice. Perfect for the kids and easy to eat quick and get back on the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brontemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    96
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
112
71
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

When in Rapid City on June 26, 2012, I tried getting a reservation using the Wyndham website. No luck. So I just drove to Murdo. When I got there, I asked about inputing my rewards number for the stay. The clerk told me that their computer was not working to input the stay thru the Wyndham website. After I got back home I contacted Wyndham to allow the credit. After several emails, I finally was told that after Wyndham contacted Days Inn in Murdo, their response was " I called the property and spoke to Kim she said you would not receive points because they are no longer partners with Wyndham Rewards as of 04/17/2012".
Well, I don't have to say anymore.

Room Tip: Not forthcoming in advising they were no longer members of Wyndham Rewards .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Motel was a bit older, and we had a larger room with two in-wall AC units. No complaints and everything worked as you might hope. Nicely appointed breakfast offering in the morning with front desk staff keeping everything filled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albin, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Traveled hard all day and this place looked inviting. Had great experience with other Days Inns. Price was extremely high. Nice room. Got up in the morning for promised breakfast at six to six thirty.. Lobby locked up and no one there. Stayed around until 6:45 and still no one there. Many guests wandering around waiting for someone to show up. Headed down the road to continue our trip. Felt down by our experience. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Traveling on the interstate on a motorcycle in 106 degree heat isn't fun so we called it a day. The Days inn looked the best as we drove into town. It's appearance was more up to date than the other hotels and they had an indoor pool. The girl at the counter was very nice until we asked to park the bike close to the front door "our policy is to park in the parking spaces in the lot" was her snippy answer. The room was clean and comfortable, the guest laundry was very convenient and the pool looked inviting. So what's the problem -- well part of staying in a hotel is the feeling of safety one has about leaving the vehicle in the parking lot and knowing if there is a problem someone is as close by as the front desk to help -- Right? The front desk person leaves and puts metal gates up closing off the front lobby area and no one is available till morning.

At around 10 a family with many children came in -- they used the pool and were running up and down the halls very loud. Knowing the pool closes at 11 we ignored the noise. We were awoken on and off all night with loud music and dancing. It's 2 am and who do you call? No one is there! The noise finally quieted down around 4 am just in time to get up and start the day.

I found it ironic that the little sign in the room says "a promise as sure as the sun" If there is anything you need, just dial zero and your host on duty will assist you. the second paragraph says "we are personally responsible and strive to ensure you have an exceptional stay with us."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightningsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Spacious room, spacious bathroom, very clean. Best hotel so far on my trip towards Illinois. Thank you Days Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteD606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

kim at the desk is very helpful! the rooms are perfectly good. the breakfast is nice. i would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murdo hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Graham's
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Murdo
Super 8 Murdo
#3 of 4 in Murdo
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sioux Motel
Sioux Motel
#4 of 4 in Murdo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
American Inn Express
#2 of 2 in Murdo
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Range Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range Country

Property: Range Country
Address: 302 West 5th St, I-90 Business Loop Exit 191-192, Murdo, SD 57559-0464 (Formerly Days Inn Murdo/Range Country)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Murdo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Range Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Range Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Murdo
Murdo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing