We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, friendly staff, clean, good value”
Review of Range Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Range Country
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As we drove into Murdo, we passed several motels, some with enticing signs offering very low rates. They probably would have been fine, but we didn't know. We stopped at this very attractive Days Inn to inquire about rate and were pleasantly surprised. The large western lodge-style gathering area and friendly lady at the desk cinched the deal. Fresh cookies. The breakfast menu was posted so we knew what to expect. WiFi worked flawlessly. Room was clean, beds comfortable. The spacious gathering area was such a better place to have breakfast than the cramped and noisy spaces found in most motels. All in all it was a relaxing and comfortable stay, in every way. Quiet, off freeway. Would return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachflower_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Exactly what the family needed. A good night's rest for a reasonable prIce. The office area decorations are really fun for the kids. Lots of wildlife. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelcase00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were traveling late at night and called to check on rooms, she said the front desk closed in 30 minutes ( which we were further away than that) but the front desk lady stayed until we had arrived! The rooms are very nice, decorated "cowboy " appropriate! We loved it! The chuck wagon breakfast was Delish! We will be staying here on our next cross country trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

That was a truly pleasant surprise, this log cabin Days Inn with the most comfortable bed and the niciest room on our long trip. It was clean, cozy, and cute. We also enjoyed dinner in the Steak House close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlinaCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

As other reviewers have noted, the staff of this hotel is helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and equipped with most of the amenities you'd expect. Lobby is good. Breakfast is okay. The eggs are those pre-made "omelets" that are then warmed up, but the cold breakfast choices are plentiful and good.

One thing to note: My cell phone had no service in most of Murdo, including this hotel. Fortunately, the hotel sells a phone card that I could use to make long-distance calls from the hotel phone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanSineadsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here opening weekend of deer hunting season. I would recommend this hotel above all others. It is the friendliest place in town with the best hospitality! Kim was fantastic! What a great personality she has and it felt like home. Breakfast out early to accommodate us.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stopped here on our way into Mount Rushmore. Hotel was well decorated with town history photos and wall fixtures....clean and friendly. Even though we arrived very late there were cookies in the lobby. Continental breakfast was great. The room was a notch above what you would expect for a typical Days Inn. The website indicated that they were full but I made the phone call and found that it was an error.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Two stories. So if you don't want the inconvenience ask for lower or outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakermcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murdo hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Graham's
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Murdo
Super 8 Murdo
#3 of 4 in Murdo
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sioux Motel
Sioux Motel
#4 of 4 in Murdo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Range Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range Country

Address: 302 West 5th St, I-90 Business Loop Exit 191-192, Murdo, SD 57559-0464 (Formerly Days Inn Murdo/Range Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Murdo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murdo
Price Range: $96 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Range Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Range Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Murdo
Murdo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing