We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Acceptable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Ramada Inn, Mitchell, SD, was a Holiday Inn up until about 9 months ago. The hotel has retained the positive attributes of the former, including the HoliDome with very nice pool and miniature golf. The room was pleasant and held two comfortable queen size beds, which comfortably accomodated me and my three older-adult (16-25) children. The staff was very good, and readily recommended dining options (we ate at Chef Louie's; a locally owned italian/steak house type restaurant, and it was a good dining experience). The price was cheaper that other alternatives, which was a deciding factor for staying at the hotel, but the included breakfast was disappointing, and the waitress failed to mention until after the fact that drinks (juice, coffee etc) were extra.

While not a reflection on the hotel itself, we were disappointed with the 'Corn Palace', the local big tourist attraction (instead of the exterior corn mosaic for which it is famous, much of the exterior was merely exposed plywood). We did have fun shopping the downtown shops.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

No breakfast. Lost reservations after comfirming 3 times. Charged wrong rates versus the contract signed 7 months in advance. Very slow internet connection. Tough to find a helpful employee, easy to find one that doesn't know what somebody else promised. The rooms and facility are FANTASTIC! The pool and surrounding area is absolutely TOP NOTCH! Please fix the management and communication.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelpas, Manager at Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

The problems that are mentioned were brought to the attention of our owners. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

The reservations were found and everyone was checked into the hotel. We also adjusted the charges to the correct amount.

While the lack of service experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for this on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the
inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

had a 2 room suite and a door next to pool kids loved it! easy to find, resturant in hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackson129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I hosted a meeting at the Ramada and if it wasn't the place to stay before...It sure is today! The staff greeted me and smiled at every turn. My meeting space was set up and the beverage table was ready to go right on schedule. My sleep was fantastic on the big cozy bed. Everyone in my group said the same, the bar was the perfect private place to wind down and we sat by the fireplace with a great after dinner drink. I am going back and will recomend this facility to everyone if they want a meeting facility that wants to meet your needs. I had a two room suite for about the same price as another regular room in town and the hotel has a huge pool too. Thanks to the Ramada Group It Was A Pleasure!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our family had a great time at the Ramada! The staff was friendly, and even talked with our youg children! (2 years, 6 years, 10 years old). From the huge in door pool to playing mini golf our whole family was entertained! Even Grandma played mini golf! We ate in their resturant for breakfast and dinner, it was amazing! I wish we would have ate lunch there too! For the price of the food and the serving size....WOW! Not to mention my husband normally wakes up at every little noise.....he woke up the next morning and said this was the first hotel he slept soundly the entire night! That will definately bring us back to this hotel!!!!
I read past reviews and was hesitant on staying.....I am glad I choose the Ramada after all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorado_Family_of_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We are very pleased with the overall experience we had using the facilities. Tre was wonderful to work with, very patient and willing to answer question even if they were repeats. The food was wonderful. We had many compliments on the meal especially the chicken noodle soup.

The only thing I noticed is they were just putting up the Congrat sign as we arrived and the punch was not ready but we were a little earlier than I thought we would be. After that, things went well once the food was brought out.

We had a few quest that stayed and we did too and had the gift opening in the morning by the pool. I really appreciated that feature.

Of course there is always room for improvement but I would highly recommend to anyone to use the Ramada's facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at this Ramada on our way to Mt Rushmore, one night. We checked in late, around 9:30 pm and were given a room on the inside with doors from the hallway and the indoor pool area.
The free internet was non-existant, never could get internet service. The bathroom was laid out for a contortionist. The door to the bathroom wouldn't open all the way due to the toilet. You could open the door maybe 2/3 of the way, for it hit the toilet. It was quite an experience just getting into the bathroom.
For just a stopover on your road trip, this will suffice, but I sure wouldn't want to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Memphisbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelpas, Sales Manager at Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

We became a Ramada Inn & Suites in March of 2008 and since that time we have made many renovations and improvements to our facility. We completely renovated 34 rooms into brand new two room suites and jacuzzi suites. All 122 rooms have been updated with with Serta Pillow-top Mattresses and brand new furniture. We added a brand new restaurant and lounge. Our entire facility is now a completely smoke-free environment. And we are proud to tell you that in November of 2008 we were chosen to receive the Mitchell Chamber of Commerce 2008 Community Improvement Award.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
1.5 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
1.9 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Mitchell
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1525 W Havens Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $82 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Mitchell Hotel Mitchell
Mitchell Ramada Inn
Holiday Inn Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing