We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Convenient”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Mitchell Quality Inn in June and we will definitely stay there again. It is located a short distance off the interstate and close to tourist attractions.

Check-in was fast & easy & they asked our preference for ground floor, near the pool, etc. The lobby and breakfast area are very inviting. The breakfast had a lot of variety. There were waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, apples etc. They had some of the best donuts I have had in a long time at a motel.

Our room was spacious with a recliner and refrigerator. It would be a real bonus and relatively inexpensive to add microwaves too. The motel was very busy but our room was still quiet.

There is a pool and whirlpool. A staff member asked us how the pool was. We said cold. When we went back later, the temperature was comfortable.

My only complaint was the vending machines were not working. It is inconvenient not to be able to get a bedtime snack. The price also seemed high but it was tourist season.

Room Tip: Book early. Motels fill up in Mitchell.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and had wonderful experiences until this last time. It turns out that the most recent room we stayed in had a broken foot stool and we were charged additional $100. Upon calling hotel to find out why charged was told by person on phone that according to housekeeping and manager rooms are inspected before checkins and foot stool was not broken but was when we checked out. We never used the stool I did not see it until checkout looking for a toy. I tried numerous times to reach the manager who was never available and was told this was the decision that had been made. I feel this is poor management and customer service. So if you stay make sure you inspect your room for broken furniture as they will charge even if it was not broken by you. They room had been poorly cleaned as we also found things in the room left by pervious customers. At breakfast no juice available( machine broken), warm water, waffle iron did not work right and not much selection for food. Overall our most recent stay at this hotel was not good and we will not stay here EVER again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nalexan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed here while traveling west to Yellowstone in Sept 2010. This hotel is very nice and clean. It had an excellent lobby area and a friendly front desk clerk. The room was clean and roomy , and our two queen beds were comfortable. Heated pool , hot tub and sauna was also wonderful. Very good laundry area for a quick wash of clothes. The morning breakfast was above average for a Quality Inn with eggs, sausage, biscuits, donuts, fruit, etc. Wireless also worked fine in room. Good location. Excellent hotel value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at the Quality Inn on our way back from the Black Hills area. On the way out we stayed at Comfort Inn. Both were very nice and priced accordingly. The Comfort's pool area with water activities is very nice but mainly for small children and our teenagers preferred the larger pool at the Quality Inn. Rooms are spacious, clean, and had a fridge. Beds are comfortable, the staff friendly. Breakfast was nice with both hot and cold items and a larger table area to eat in. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The staff was very helpful, beds were comfortable, and the pool area was great. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalaLucy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

liked it very much, pillows were much better than the feather ones. loved the pool nice and warm, and deep. Beds are nice and firm but dont kill your back.

Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
Thank Katydid1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We decided to stay overnight in Mitchell because of questionable driving weather even though we only live 50 miles away. We chose this Quality Inn because of price and decent ratings on Trip Advisor. We had a 2-queen room which was very spacious and included an easy chair and a desk/office type chair. There is also a separate area with a counter, a hair dryer, and large mirror which works out great when 2 of you are trying to get ready at the same time--no waiting for the bathroom mirror! The coffee pot, ice bucket and refrigerator are also in this area which leaves ample counter space in the bathroom or main desk area. The bed was comfortable and there were several pillows to choose from. The heat is electric so no noisy fan running and cycling all night. The hotel was quiet--it was a Sunday night so not sure how full they were. The bathroom is a little small but adequate. The shower head wasn't very good. It was supposed to be a massage type head--which it was--but the water pressure wasn't enough to make it worthwhile. Even on the actual plain shower setting there wasn't much pressure which made it hard to get the shampoo out of our hair. Also, if you're very tall the shower head would probably hit you in the shoulders. We're short people so it was OK for us. The breakfast was disappointing. We went to the breakfast room at 8:30 and there was no coffee--only 5 empty air pots! I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and she came and made some--one pot anyway. There were 3 of us waiting for coffee at that time. As I looked around the breakfast area I could see that they were not stocked well at all. There were no bagels, only 6 slices of white bread, 3 small danish, gravy but no biscuits, 3 hard boiled eggs, 2 cups of waffle batter, 2 pieces of fruit, lots of cereal in the containers but who wants to eat cereal when staying away from home? I mentioned to the front desk clerk that it looked like it all needed to be re-stocked and she said that the person that usually does that did mention they were out of a lot of stuff and left a list of needed items--huh? How does a hotel in a decent sized town run out of stuff when there's a Wal-Mart less than a mile away? The front desk clerk finally did bring out some fruit, a few more danish, 6 pieces of wheat bread and a couple cups of waffle batter but took away the gravy and the remaining hard boiled eggs. One of the housekeeping ladies came and made another pot of coffee because she and a co-worker wanted some and the pot that was made after we asked for it was already empty. This hotel either needs a breakfast attendant or the front desk clerk needs to keep an eye on things and replenish items quickly--especially the coffee since it takes some time to make and seems to be the first thing that goes.
Other than those problems this was a nice stay. We didn't check out the pool area so can't comment on that. All in all we would stay here again and maybe go next door to Perkins for breakfast if need be.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.3 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
47.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#14 of 18 in Mitchell
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1221 South Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mitchell
Mitchell Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing