We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Great motel for those on a tight budget. The rooms were huge and the continental breakfast was decent. Even had a hot tub and internet. Room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christy1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    147
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
125
121
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billings MT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed twice on my last trip. The first time was Saturday and paid $59,99 before tax. The room was fine and clean with an scimpy continental breakfast. On my way home after a very hard day I thought why not stay again. This was on a Monday night. Well I was too tired and got stupid, just signed my name and headed for bed. There I was with a big room and three beds but I just needed to crash. I was surprised the clerk didn't mention that. In the morning I looked at the slip and wow a whopping $80! I went to the desk and asked for the manager, the man told me he was the owner. I told him my tale of woe and he seemed rather amused and obviously indifferent. He told me he will charge as much as he can possibly get. If the customer complains he will give the AAA discount. I showed my card but never saw a sign of any discount. He said he might discount farther if they complain but his clerks are not authorized to do that soooooooooo my tough luck. I learned a good lesson and won't be staying at the Thunderbird again. he made it clear he doesn't care about repeat business. Price gouging at its worst.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — price and owner attitude
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank artitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Stayed here on our way back from Sturgis Bike week 2008, we were a bit afraid at first but it turned out to be a very good place for the price. American staff, whirlpool, breakfast and very clean room. The hotel is a bit out dated but it was a great stay. I would definitely recommend to others and I plan to stay there again next year if we go to Sturgis again!

  • Liked — clean for the type of hotel
  • Disliked — it was a bit out dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crudebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at The Thunderbird! I found their name in a travel brochure at a rest area and knew we should call. We had never called a private owned motel, but thought it was worth a try. We got there and the gentleman at the desk showed us a room. I liked the fact that they had things available on the premise like bags of ice, etc. That was very convenient for us since we travel with a cooler. We stayed only one night but have recommended it to many people since we've gotten home. For an added bonus check out the Jackalope statue and take a few photos!

  • Liked — Very clean and front desk employees were very friendly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

Spent one night here. Immediate area not scenic, just off freeway. Good service from staff. Weak complementary breakfast. Has lobby PC. Average bargain room with fridge, normal features. In-house liquor store. Lots of travel info. Good bargain - $53.50 with AARP and taxes. Restaurants nearby but I did not use them.

  • Liked — Value, service
  • Disliked — Unattractive surroundings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woodsfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

On our travels out west, we felt obligated as tourists to visit the Corn Palace, so our 2nd night found us in Mitchell. The hotel was average, but a good value for an overnight stay. Rooms were well kept, staff was courteous. The continental breakfast was ok, but sparse.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

This place was recommended by a friend who also told us to get the coupon off of hotel coupons dot com. Great deal. $49 for two beds. (Make a reservation if you can, they only sell a certain number of "coupon rooms" each night. We checked in at 4pm and got one of the last ones.)

We like staying at locally owned places when we can. This one was very tidy, bathroom was clean and each room has a fridge & microwave. Nothing fancy, but perfectly comfortable.

Breakfast is exactly what you would expect - toast, juice, coffee, cereal and donuts. Not a meal, but enough carbs to get your blood sugar surging for the drive.

I was going to take a pic, but realized that the pics on their website are very accurate and don't try to make the place look more glamorous than it is. Just look at those.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
3.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Property: Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing