We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in a sea of over priced chains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stopped here, spent one night while traveling to the Sturgis Rally,
There were plenty of other motorcyclist there also,
Was greeted at the front desk by a young man, and when asked where a good
place to get a beer and a steak, he said there was a new place behind the motel.
The motel is showing it's age, and the rooms are a little dated..
But I found it clean and quiet.. the bed was comfortable,
The breakfast room is small and warm, the breakfast isn't anything to get excited about,
but it's an economy motel.
The wifi worked good..
These small mom & pop motor court motels are a dying breed and being replaced by
chains, so I try and stay at places like these..

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your review!

As long as there are travelers like you we will stick around! Undeniably, there are things beyond our control but rest assured we'll continue making the updates that keep us competitive with those other chains while still staying affordable for the everyday traveler.

Thanks, again, and we hope to see you on your next trip through Mitchell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 460 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were in the separated building that faces the highway/interstate. Room was loud, smelled of stale smoke and every time the AC kicked on, the smell got stronger. The room was large and looked fairly clean. Beds were not very comfortable. Continental breakfast was a few donuts, some bagels or cold cereal. It was handy that McDonald's was right next door. Handy location, good price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank lilmamaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review!

I'm sorry to hear you experienced a "smoky smell" during your stay. I am a non-smoker myself, and even the slightest hint of smoke can lead to an unpleasant experience. Based on your description of the area you stayed, there are a couple of smoking rooms that adjoin on one side to a set of non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately, when our smoking rooms are occupied by a guest that *really* loves their cigarettes that smell can travel through the ceiling tiles to other rooms.

Thankfully, only a small number of our Non-Smoking rooms (3 of 48 to be exact) share an adjoining wall with a smoking room.

Thanks, again, for the review and I'll get to work on finding a solution to this problem. I truly appreciate you staying at Thundebird Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had planned to stay at the Super8 in Sioux Falls by the airport, but one look and we drove on to Mitchell, SD. Found this gem right off the interstate! Very reasonable, comfortable and clean rooms, very friendly staff, too. This was night 3 on our 22 state summer trip and this is one of the few places we felt was a good value for our money. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you so much for the review! You've really nailed it here. Friendliness (Customer Service) and cleanliness are our calling cards! We're very happy you made the trip to Mitchell and would love to see you next time you're through our great state!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great price! The room was simple and comfortable for the one night we stayed! The owner was friendly and very helpful. There is a restaurant within walking distance,and other that are a short drive. Close to the corn palace.

Room Tip: Easy on and off 90
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

You nailed it, Sue!

Thank you very much for leaving your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next time you're through Mitchell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great room, comfy bed. Close to highway with a restaurant right next to it. Affordable pricing for the value of service. Friendly workers at the motel. Planning to stay on my next trip. Also close to attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lecy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

I will let our desk staff know that you appreciated the service during your stay and we would love to see you again on your next stop through Mitchell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

For a very reasonable price this motel does what it should. It's conveniently located from the freeway, it's very clean and the staff were friendly. Don't expect luxury of course but this was a good option during a long road trip.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank something_similar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

One of our tag lines here at Thunderbird Lodge is "Where great price meets great value." and we're thrilled you stayed with us to experience that on your trip through Mitchell.

Thanks again for your business, and for the review. Have a great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The Thunderbird Lodge offers a great value for a stay in Mitchell. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk, who not only quickly checked us in, but was also helpful in directing us to local attractions. Our room featured a very comfortable bed with a clean bathroom. Breakfast was adequate but not deluxe due to a limited variety of items offered. We would stay here on our next visit to Mitchell.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shamrocker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for the review!

I'm happy to hear that your check-in process was enjoyable. I'll pass on your review to our friendly desk clerks who always like to know their hard work is appreciated. Please keep us in mind on your next trip through South Dakota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
637 reviews
47.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Mitchell
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $72 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing