We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Nearby Hotels
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mitchell)
$71
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corn Palace Inn(Mitchell)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachlight Motel(Mitchell)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
161
201
87
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
201
87
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonutsroom was cleancontinental breakfastgreat priceold schooltruck stopfamily roomhot tub and saunayogurtparking lotstay there againnight's restbudget hotelnice sizegas stationgreat place to staynice place
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 485 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Didn't expect a lot but really enjoyed our stay. Room was just what we wanted, nice door to the parking lot. Several restaurants next door. Good breakfast included. Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed watching a truckload of hogs out front (local color).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a very sudden change of timeframe and needed to find a place in the Mitchell area that night as I was driving. The property is easy to find and pretty much off the interstate. Its a low key property, nothing fancy, though they have their own liquor store of sorts on the property. Room was exactly what I needed, a clean quiet place to lay my head for a few hours before setting out again early that next morning. Would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is one we were happy to find. $52 total, clean, large room with two beds, pleasant decor, nice clerks, hot tub, micro and fridge in every room, continental breakfast. We checked out the Best Western which was significantly more, and could not find a reason to pay for it. The Thunderbird Lodge is a good example for the franchises!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I cannot say enough awesome things about this hotel. The staff was awesome. The room was super comfy. The price was wonderful. The breakfast was good.

If you're pulling off of 1-90 for the night, or have made the mistake of traveling to Mitchell, SD to see the worst tourist trap in the lower 48 states - stay at the Thunderbird Lodge!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesPMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are coupon room junkies, and have experienced the good, the bad and the ugly. This time we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service we received on the phone and at check-in. Far better than most front desk experiences. As others have stated, the property is in need of freshening up, but our room was clean, comfortable and more than acceptable to us. The continental breakfast was OK, about on par with what we expected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews