We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The girl at the front desk was so nice and cheerful - both on the phone and when we arrived. We had a lovely spacious room with 2 queen beds - vanity outside tub and shower area. Lots of room to put luggage and computer, etc.
Bed was comfortable and we slept well. The room was clean.
Amenities - fridge and microwave - as well as a table with chair and overstuffed lounger.
They have a hot tub and sauna, but since it was near 100 degrees outside when we visited, the thought of a hot tub was not on our minds!
Continental breakfast is average - cereal, bakery and the usual beverages.
For the price, this was a great stay.
Location is also great - the Chinese restaurant Twin Dragon is right next door, and excellent. There are other places to eat within easy driving range. And the McDonald's is also next door.
Getting to the Corn Palace is very easy -
Highly recommend the Thunderbird Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

This motel seemed like a typical motel when I checked in. It was outdated, which I didn't think was the worst thing because a lot of motels are...but I was attacked by BED BUGS in the middle of the night. I did due diligence and checked the mattresses, drawers, etc, and didn't bring my suitcase in (thankfully), but for $140/night I assumed at the very least I wouldn't be eaten alive. I woke up with 15 huge welts all over my chest, arms and neck. When I told the front desk worker, she said, "No, we don't have bed bugs." She continued to debate me, then told me they didn't have any other rooms available (as if I wanted them). I slept in my vehicle and in the morning told the front desk I would be checking out and they said they could vacuum the room....like that would make a difference. All in all....I'll never stay at the Thunder DUMP again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was an average stay lodge and ok for the price. We booked two rooms and both were fine for the overnight stay. The front desk service was good. Location is good, we walked to Perkins Restaurant but McDonald's was right next door for those who wanted fast food. We would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here as an overnight stop with the family on the way to the Black Hills. From the outside, it looked a little suspicious at first, the giant concrete rabbit out front made me wonder what I had gotten us in to. But I was pleasantly surprised; the room was very clean and had a microwave and refrigerator. Wi-Fi worked well. The hot tub and sauna area was very clean as well. Front desk staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was the basic cereal, doughnut and muffin assortment, but appropriate to the price. There are several restaurants within walking distance, ranging from McDonald’s to Perkins with a few truck stop types in between. Easy access to I-90. Dogs not allowed, but my daughter liked the rabbit!

Good reasonably priced property. I’d come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobile_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Mitchell, SD and the Thunderbird Lodge was a good stopping over point on our way from west central Missouri to Custer, SD. This little mom & pop type motel was clean and provided everything we needed for our exhausted bodies. The front desk staff was excellent. Super nice and had a lot of great information. We arrived late evening and left early morning, so our stay was just kind of a passing thru kind of deal. But what we saw of the motel was it is not fancy, but clean and the folks were friendly. The motel did offer breakfast, but it was very, very basic with toast and donuts, juice and coffee (very good coffee!). I will say the only draw back was our a/c unit was very, very loud, but this did dround out the motorcycles coming and going on the highway since we were there the Thursday before the Sturgis bike rally. The location is very convenient to the highway, fast food and the Corn Palace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryMomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Passing through and just needing somewhere to sleep (affordably), it was between Thunderbird Lodge and another fancier hotel near the same price. My husband thought I was weird, but I chose Thurderbird Lodge because the man I spoke to on the phone sounded friendly. (The woman I spoke to at the fancier hotel was kind of rude). Yes, it was on the older side and I almost thought we pulled into a hotel that had a bowling alley connected to it (it doesn't), but we were pleasantly surpised by the room. He gave us a family suite. It was two large rooms, one with 2 double queen beds and the other room with another queen bed. Perfect for our family. The room was clean. The breakfast was fine. Nothing fancy, but adequate. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were put in an exterior room, right behind the steps to the upstairs. This meant we could not park in front of our room and there was a blaring light that we could not block out with the drapes. The room is large, but very dingy. The refrigerator has mold it. The bathroom is SMALL and the shower floor so slick I will not allow my son to shower for fear he will slip. The beds are extremely uncomfortable. I am writing this from the hotel at three in the morning. I cannot sleep because I keep hearing something scurrying in the ceiling tiles. We are checking out!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $72 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing