We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend.”

Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village is the only archaeological site in South Dakota open to the public. It is a 1,000 year-old village located on the shores of lovely Lake Mitchell. Each summer students from the University of Exeter, England and Augustana University, Sioux Falls continue the excavation of the site. Tours are given every day during the summer months by knowledgeable guides. Plenty of activities for all ages. Visit the museum, the dig site (located in the Archeodome) and Shoppe Antiquary (a gift shop featuring Native American jewelry, pottery, art and more). Our biggest event of the year is Archeology Awareness Days, held on July 2nd and 3rd, 2016. Open Monday thru Saturday 8:00am - 7:00 pm beginning Memorial Day weekend; open Sundays 10:00am to 6:00pm. Open the rest of the year 9:00am - 6:00pm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommend.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Enclosed dig site, frequently used a classroom for visiting students (on this date, from England). Conversation and explanation by directors enlightening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    49
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

very good infomtion and good for kids and us to learn something new

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stock7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Real history not commercialized ... An amazing opportunity!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My 10-year-old son and I had an amazing experience at this true and active archeological site. What a find. If you are looking for a true take on history and all the amazing things it can do to expand your mind then be sure to stop. It was so nice to find something off I-90 that was void of commercialism and tourist trapisms. Greet tour guide and staff overall. Go!

Helpful?
Thank DebbieMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for history and archaeology buffs”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The museum is well done and informational, including a sod hut. The archaeological site is a working site, so that you see how archaeologists work.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Interesting, But Kids Became Bored”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stopped here on our drive from Kansas City to the Black Hills. The tour guide was enthusiastic, but my kids (ages 6 and 13) couldn't help but laugh at the dated and boring video that he made us watch at the start of our visit. I enjoyed the recreation of an actual prehistoric native Indian's home and viewing some of the relics. My kids were mildly interested in this. The highlight for them was learning to throw spears and getting to dig for relics in the faux dig-site. My youngest child was thrilled to recover a plastic arrowhead which she was able to trade-in for a real arrowhead. All in all, this is a pleasant place, but not something you should do if you're in a hurry to get somewhere on your drive along I-90.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Prehistoric Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing