We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and remodeled very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay and remodeled very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Another great stay with AmericInn hotels =) I had a great breakfast and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are new remodeled which was really nice. I great time shopping and really close to the downtown area. By the way GREAT Internet here...

Room Tip: This americInn has the core technology which means they are really quite and dark. Good for business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlickne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaHart, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the wonderful comments. We are proud of our Newly Remodled Rooms, and our Fast High Speed Internet!
We strive to make each and every stay enjoyable and relaxing, and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
46
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I traveled from Washington, was staying for 5 nights by myself. I booked online and my order had been messed up somehow so I was supposed to be bumped up to a king bed room. When I arrived they said my reservation never went through that my card was declined. I had the receipt!! I asked for the manager and the woman at the front desk made ME call the manager.. AT HOME! when I felt I should not be the one who has to deal with it, not my fault! Anyway she got it straightened out but guess what! I never got the king bed I was promised! Then, the second morning around 8 am I hear a very loud pounding and pounding above me.. They were reshingling the roof!! For the last three days of my stay I was woken up by that in the morning! I would have appreciated a heads up!!! This was my vacation!! Hello!!
I was glad to go home. The ONLY reason I would stay there again is because it was so close to my boyfriends school easy to walk there. I wish I could get my money back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaHart, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I really appreciate your review, and apologize for the way your check in was handled. The staff that handled your check in was new, and had not run into that situation with your
booking before.
Since that situation, we have trained our staff more thouroghly so that this will not happen to other customers. We take pride in our customer service, so that our customers have a hassle free, enjoyable stay. If you have the opportunity, please feel free to call me, so that I may offer you a FREE room for your next stay, for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here while attending the car show. Very disappointing for an Americinn. The nice gal that checked us in was the best part of staying here.She was very attentive and friendly she worked a double and even on her second shift was just as friendly and smiling as she was when we walked in the door. She truly loves what she does and loves the company she works for. The hot tub was actually hot and roomy. The beds were not comforable nor were the pillows we each had 3 pillows just to sleep and we all woke up with back aches. The pool area appeared to be clean and was well stocked with towels however walk by the window and it was cobweb city. The pool was a little murky but that could be from the usuage of the day and just needed shocking. The morning girl for breakfast was not attentive to the breakfast area at all-food was running low, coffee was low and the tables were dirty and she was nowhere in site,we cleaned off our own table and after 20 minutes she finally came out-ignored the coffee, wiped the countertop (no tables) and when I asked if they had any other nutrigrain bars in other flavors (only 1 left in the basket and my daughters friend didn't care for the flavor) she was just rude and said no and walked away. Then disappeared behind the front desk somewhere. She was very good at putting the bell out on the front desk instead of being there.Obviously people are checking out in the morning you should be there instead of making them wait, as well as keeping the coffee fresh and full and the breakfast area clean. Will try a different hotel the next time we stay in Mitchell. Some updating was done to this Americainn but the money spent in asthetic looks and not on comfort.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a last minute stop for us. It was very late when we got here we took the last room they had. It was super clean and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful! The front desk help was great! We will stay here again when going to the Black Hills!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The room was spacious and clean, though the vanity was unnecessarially cramped making it tough for the two of us to share the space. Breakfast was good, with egg and sausage patties. My one complaint is that i had to watch Fox News for breakfast. Why do businesses think Fox is OK for their captive customers, when roughly half of us have different politics? Try CNN or any other network, or maybe HGTV.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Neillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. It had a mini-fridge, microwave, desk, and of course a TV. It was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was in two parts, the sink being outside of the tub/toilet area. The tub/toilet area was a bit small, but sufficient. We loved the beautiful lobby area with the big screen TV and leather furniture and computer desk with internet access. The breakfast area was nice too and their breakfast food was good. Nice area to have a card game later in the day. The desk clerk was friendly. The only thing I didn't care for was the truck trailor parked out front, on the side of the building. It was obvious that it had been there a while (weeds grown around it. Not a nice sight, but it didn't really detract from our overall positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaboomafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here last weekend on our way to Rapid City. Although we were not there long, we could not have been happier. The room had new Serta Perfect beds, furniture, flat screen tv and a great selection for breakfast. We did not arrive until 11pm, but the lady at the front desk could not have been friendlier. She provided us a lot of info about Mitchell's Corn Palace. Great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Address: 1421 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4759
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell, South Dakota. We know there’s no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Mitchell will feel like your home away from home.The AmericInn Mitchell, SD is proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our Mitchell hotel offers a variety of room types including suites with whirlpools. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub.The AmericInn Mitchell hotel is conveniently located just blocks North of I-90, off of Exit 332, in Mitchell, SD. Mitchell is known for its World Famous Corn Palace. Millions of people have visited this artistic building since it was first built in 1892. When you visit the AmericInn Mitchell, SD you will find yourself in the Heartland of South Dakota, with its rich rolling farmland and wide open prairies. Mitchell is the Pheasant Hunting Capital of South Dakota. There are various attractions in Mitchell for visitors, such as the Dakota Discovery Museum, Prehisoric Indian Village, McGovern Library, Mitchell Historical Society, and Mitchell's unique main street shopping, as well as one of the largest Cabela's stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing