We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Clean and comfortable rooms. Kids loved the pool. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Room was clean. Bed didn't have a skirt and you could see some gross stains on the side of the one box spring. No elevator which was a pain hauling luggage upstairs. In the morning there was no coffee made and I had to ask. The attendant was very friendly and made it right away. Overall, it was a decent value and seemed clean and comfortable. The pool and spa were really nice. Not fantastic, but not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_truckster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

On our trip west we sometimes stay in Mitchell, usually at the Best Western. It was unavailable this time, so we chose the AmericInn. In general, I have found them to be extremely nice, and this one was no exception. The front desk staff was pleasant, but not overly friendly or outgoing. The breakfast was just fine, and the room was quite nice. When my husband came out with the bill we were a bit shocked. When we looked it over, we saw a $40 pet fee!!!! I don't think I have ever paid that much before. We have two pets, so perhaps it was $20 per pet? In any case, this is a perfectly acceptable (though not my favorite, try Chamberlain instead) AmericInn with unusually high pet fees ... let the buyer beware.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Goes_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here while we were visiting family and couldnt have been more pleased with the service and our stay. They have a nice breakfast in the morning and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The rate was very reasonable for that time of year. All of the front desk people were very helpful with any questions we had and helped us find our way around. We will always stay here on our future trips.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Room was in excellent condition. Kids loved the pool! Was nice that my husband and I could enjoy pool time by ourselves. Great people. Very Friendly! Awesome breakfast. The motel was very well maintained and clean! Great place to take a family! Plan on staying there in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackandjjsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I will not stay there again. Moldy shower curtain, stained box spring (brown, not sure what it was), room smelled, interesting conversations with management...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too_tall75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

This is a great little hotel. Rooms are large. We stayed in a jacuzzi room and it was huge. For five or six dollars more than a standard get one. The rooms are very clean and the king bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast is ample if simple: eggs, sausage, canned fruit, toaster waffles, juice, etc..

There is free internet for your computer. The staff is friendly. There is also a medium sized pool and jacuzzi. For a place to stop on your way to Black Hills or for a visit to Mitchell, this is highly recommended.
For $65-70 it's really tough to beat. I gave it five stars, heavily rating it for value.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xhjsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell

Address: 1421 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4759
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell, South Dakota. We know there’s no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Mitchell will feel like your home away from home.The AmericInn Mitchell, SD is proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our Mitchell hotel offers a variety of room types including suites with whirlpools. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub.The AmericInn Mitchell hotel is conveniently located just blocks North of I-90, off of Exit 332, in Mitchell, SD. Mitchell is known for its World Famous Corn Palace. Millions of people have visited this artistic building since it was first built in 1892. When you visit the AmericInn Mitchell, SD you will find yourself in the Heartland of South Dakota, with its rich rolling farmland and wide open prairies. Mitchell is the Pheasant Hunting Capital of South Dakota. There are various attractions in Mitchell for visitors, such as the Dakota Discovery Museum, Prehisoric Indian Village, McGovern Library, Mitchell Historical Society, and Mitchell's unique main street shopping, as well as one of the largest Cabela's stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing