We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They left the light on for us!!”
Review of Motel 6 Mitchell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Mitchell
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
longmont, colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“They left the light on for us!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My elderly sister and I didn't have reservations and the motel found us a room that would accommodate a handicapped person on the first floor. He also gave us directions as to where to eat, etc. WiFi is also available in the rooms. The room was large and although there was no bathtub it had a very nice shower and good water pressure. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
24
23
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This Motel 6 is in need of freshening. Our unit had a defective shower valve that made temperature control very difficult. It was also difficult to get the water turned off when we were finished with the shower. Our unit was a second floor unit where one of the concrete stair treads was very deteriorated and in dire need of replacement. I was a bit leery of stepping on it. It had been spray painted yellow to indicate danger I guess. The room was clean enough but everywhere there was evidence of hard use and wear. The pillows were very thin. It was a bit noisy there too not terrible but not really quiet. There was no night light and the vent fan was noisy. I would not say never again but I would likely seek out other alternatives first.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are better for sure until the stair tread is replaced as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hustontown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in Motel 6 for a hunting trip room were small dirty roach infeasted. no coffe pot no hair dryer don't stay there it is very dirty and has bugs. Don't take my word go check it out. our friend had bottles candy paper under the bed maid only sweep when we told her to she was very rude.The rooms you could barley move around in we ordered two queens got two full. the matress was stained. It should be shut down.

Room Tip: Rooms are dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mitchell hotels

Pierre, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked 2 rooms while in town for a funeral. Two minutes after checking in, my daughter found a roach climbing up the wall. We moved the fridge and more roaches scurried out (room 217). When we complained to the manager, he said, "dirty Mexicans bring those in" and chuckled. He moved us to another room but wouldn't give a refund or even comp a room. Our 2nd room that we were moved to appeared to be bug free. The other room that my sons stayed in appeared OK but a few days after returning home, they noticed red, itchy bumps.........They were BED BUGS (room 216)! Now I have the expense of fumigating two rooms in my home and the manager will not return my calls. For the cost of fumigation, I could have rented 2 suites in a much better hotel. Keep driving..............Room are dirty and infested!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not in the best part of town. Had a woman knock on our door, asked us what time it was, and what state we were in...how do you not know which state you're in? The room was small. Hate the showers. Ran out of toilet paper--there was no replacement. A cleaning lady knocked on our door early in the morning while we were still sleeping, so she could clean...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

KEEP DRIVING! We were driving a long distance in the night and we were getting tired. We rented a room here because it was the only vacancy. The place had a disgusting odor. There were insects all over the room. Large spiders and beetles everywhere. After 3 hours we decided to get up and keep driving. Outside by our car, there was a woman passed out with a case of beer next to her. No one did anything about it. We wish we had never stopped. It would have been better to sleep in the car at the rest stop.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Ez to find off I-90. The staff were all very friendly. The downside is the small rooms, & uncomfortable beds. The bedspreads look overly used. There is a microwave & refrigerator in the room, but no coffee maker...they want guests to walk to the office for a small foam cup of coffee. Really !!! The bathroom is very nice, it looks updated. Parking was an issue, a bit if a walk. We also stayed 2 nites in June on our return trip home. This review will work for the room as well. There was an issue with the toilet not working in the 1st room. And the 2nd, we noticed the smoke detector was missing. ( didn't notice in the previous room ). I did receive an email to answer a few questions from our 1st stay in May. But not one for June when I left a comment that I would address that stay. If you just need a nite or two ... It'll do... But, next time I'll find a more updated motel.

But they did leave the light on. Hahaha.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
1.9 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
1.6 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mitchell

Property: Motel 6 Mitchell
Address: 1309 S Ohlman St., I-90 at exit #330, Mitchell, SD 57301-4143
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mitchell is located near shopping and dining. Visit Middle Border Museum, Oscar Howe Art Center and Enchanted World Doll Museum. Relax in our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Free WiFi in all modern guest rooms or use our coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Motel-6, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mitchell
Mitchell Motel Six
Mitchell Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing