We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest for the weary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rest for the weary”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

On our cross country trek we pulled into Mitchell SD looking for a place to rest. Hotel was very inviting. Staff friendly and decent coffee in the morning. We will add Hampton Hotels to our Drop by list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveColumbiaValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    151
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
220
198
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Friendly staff, great service, great value. I just needed a hotel to get some work done and stay a night in Mitchell. Clean rooms, nice complimentary breakfast. I would rate this hotel as above average for a Hampton, and I already consider Hampton Inn's in general to be excellent. I have stayed at about 35 different Hampton Inn's in 10 states. You simply can't go wrong at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Best rooms are always on top floor near hallway ends (most quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was a little surprised about the lack of cleanliness of the room. There was something red splattered on the wall next to the bed. There was a pubic hair in the shower on the wall and a sanitary pad by the tv left behind from a previous guest. I felt like the attention to detail was sloppy to say the least. The pillows were also awful and the beds just ok. Nice decor,friendly staff, and a nice breakfast saved the visit from being bad all around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outtoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily O, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mitchell, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I am so sorry for the cleanliness issues you ran into at our hotel. This is not common for our hotel, or acceptable and we will address immediately! We thank-you for staying with us and would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice, new, clean hotel. They allow dogs, as I was there to pheasant to hunt. The free breakfast is basic, but good.

It is located right next to highway 90 and across the street from Cabelas.

Updated/New bedroom and bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I were travelling across the USA and decided to stay a night in Mitchell, South Dakota. We love the comfort and cleanliness of the Hampton Inn's so we did not hesitate to stay at this Hampton Inn. We were not disappointed. Very clean and well kept Hotel and the bed is so very comfy. Staff are excellent and very welcoming.

The location is close to the Interstate and adjacent to the Hotel is one of our favourite restaurants Ruby Tuesdays. The restaurant was very busy however was worth the wait.

Be sure to visit the Corn Palace. It is absolutely awesome and one of a kind attractions. It is a short drive from the Hotel and easy to find.

After a busy day we enjoyed the hotel swimming pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast the next day was the typical enjoyable Hampton Inn Breakfast. Mitchell South Dakota is a very good place as is the Hampton Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nothing outstanding,but a good place to stay. If you are a runner or walker, there is a a shopping center surrounding the hotel plus across the street is a Walmart for an extra long look. Several restaurants in the area and all looked good.

the menu could use alittle updating as it seems all hamptons now serve a similar breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily O, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mitchell, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast choices. We appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we look for new options. Please feel free to message me any suggestions that would make our hotel your number one destination in the area. On your next visit to the area, we hope you come visit us again and can provide you with excellent service and the warm Hamptonality we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our travel itinerary changed due to the wildfires out west and a shoulder injury so this was a last minute booking. As always the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff friendly. The breakfast room was really hopping the next morning (appeared to be a corvette club staying there) but the breakfast attendents kept the serving dishes/trays filled with a nice variety.

Ruby Tuesday's restaurant was within easy walking distance, which was a real plus for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mitchell

Property: Hampton Inn Mitchell
Address: 1920 Highland Way, Mitchell, SD 57301-6393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Mitchell Hotel Mitchell
Mitchell Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing