We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Coachlight Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coachlight Motel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the Coachlight Motel. My room was spotless and very large. The owner was friendly and helpful and makes a great cup of coffee! I would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Coachlight with confidence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Coming from eastern WI en route to the Badlands, Mitchell is an overnight stop for us. The Coachlight Motel offers great value. It is conveniently located. Most importantly, it is family run business. The hosts have always (we make repeated trips out West) provided a clean, well cared for room at a good price. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armitage1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a very clean and nice family owned motel. I would stay at this motel again and again. The owner was very accommodating to the time we arrived. Coffee and donuts were available in the morning at checkout. My kids asked the next night if we could stay in another Flashlight.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
285 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised that other reviews don't mention the large number of long-term residents here. We had room 23 around back, and there were several people standing around drinking with all their doors hanging open. Several kettle grills and charcoal, so you could tell they were staying a while. It didn't feel unsafe or anything, but I can see how that would be a turn-off for many.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, so that's what counts the most. We also appreciated the hot water and strong water pressure in the shower. But there was a kind of sad, rundown feel to the place. Check-in was easy and the family was very friendly. It was a budget choice, and we knew that. But we have definitely stayed in nicer $60 rooms. And would not choose to stay there again if we found ourselves in Mitchell.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room and very nice front desk staff. We stayed here while traveling and based on trip advisor reviews and the price, we chose this. Was a good decision and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Coachlight Motel. It is a great alternative to the higher priced chain locations. The owners really care about their guest and comfort. The room was very clean and well appointed. The shower has plenty of hot water, good water pressure, and a curtain that bows out so there is no clammy clinging while you shower. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep. Nice to have a fridge in the room. The internet had a very good connection. Liked the parking right outside our door. We will make it a point to stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good value. Clean spacious room, good bed, perfect heating. everything very clean. An reasonably priced. Most of these hotel chain should send some staff there to learn how a motel should be run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
1.2 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
1.6 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.9 mi away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#15 of 18 in Mitchell
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlight Motel

Property: Coachlight Motel
Address: 1000 W Havens Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301-3832
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachlight Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coachlight Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing