We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise”
Review of Corn Palace

Corn Palace
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Mitchell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ornate auditorium has served as a meeting place and performing venue for more than 75 years.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Pownal, Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife did not really want to go here but I said that we were in Mitchell and should stop in. Very interesting and we stayed for most of a morning! Everything that one would want to know about corn and we (wife included) are definitely glad we visited the attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Link1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    544
    485
    131
    69
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When traveling in this area, I always make a stop at the Corn Palace. The murals have a different theme each year, so it never gets old. Be sure to go inside and see the grain murals surrounding the arena. Be sure to check out the pictures of the different themes through the years. There is a nice gift shop with the typical touristy stuff, and snacks for purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Americana Icon”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great history lesson for the northern plains. Take the time to stop if you are in the area. Great docents to explain background and help with a tour. Nice gift shop. Annual pictures of the buildings from day 1 - showing the art on the building over time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good place stretch”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't what I expected but it was a good place to break up the drive and use the facilities. There are some touristy shops that surround it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stop if you're there.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

There's nothing terribly exciting about the place; it's a big building used for basketball games and concerts, with a gift shop up front. There's a little shopping area around the intersection as well, along with various photo opportunities with the corn palace and a six foot statue of an ear of corn.

On the plus side, the murals outside and inside over basketball court are kind of cool, and I quite like some of Calvin Schultz's artwork. I enjoyed the photos of the corn palace in past years, but I think I most liked the reproductions of of Schultz's various designs, particularly his antelope and other critters. The limited palette and the size of the murals seem to have pushed him into a very clean, stylized, oddly energetic look that I liked.

If you're driving by on your way to the Black Hills or whatever, it's a great place to stop and stretch your legs a bit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing