We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Tourist Trap”
Review of Corn Palace

Corn Palace
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Mitchell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ornate auditorium has served as a meeting place and performing venue for more than 75 years.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique Tourist Trap”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

With the National Parks being closed, I found myself with some extra time to see things on my cross country drive. So we thought we'd check out this corn palace. It definitely is a unique building. Other than the exterior, there's not all that much to see. There's a small museum and gift shop inside, (along with the basketball arena that it houses). What I found most interesting were the photos of different designs of the corn palace in years past. At least it doesn't cost anything to go inside and look around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    544
    485
    131
    69
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique to say the least”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Driving west down I-90, we decided to stop and see the Mitchell Corn Palace. We arrived too early for it to be open for tourists so we just walked around the outside and looked at a few of the shops that were open already. It is a unique thing to visit and to me it was a cool little place to see on our trip across America. Very novel idea and I liked this years theme which was a tribute to the armed forces.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
226 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Touristy but neat”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Neat little downtown area with shops and restaurants. Good for a pit stop. Neat how they make the murals out of corn. It was basically a big open gym with lots of little shops/kiosks for you to browse with some hallways and areas with information on the palace. You can get food there too (popcorn balls, ice cream, and some concession items).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
473 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Very Unusual”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife liked this better than I did. She was impressed by the construction, the materials, the appearance, you name it. I also thought it was interesting but I kept thinking it was just a gimmick that a small town had used to put itself on the map and garner visitors. If you've never seen a Corn Palace, then this is the place to go to see one. Admission was free, and there are lots of interesting pictures on the interior walls. There's also a gift shop, of course, a snack bar, and nice rest rooms. Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort,kansas usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing attraction”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we were too late to go inside, but spent a lot of time taking pictures on the outside! No wonder this is the worlds only corn palace! It is quite a feat and changing all the time, we could tell by the plans on the front! It something amazing to see whether you can go in or not! Don't miss it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing