We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like I Remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corn Palace

Corn Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.50*
and up
Admission Ticket to the Dakota Discovery Museum
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Mitchell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ornate auditorium has served as a meeting place and performing venue for more than 75 years.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just Like I Remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I first saw the Corn Palace as a teen ager traveling with a youth group and it has not changed. Reading some of the other reviews I think some visitors read more into the Corn Palace than what it is. The Corn Palace is a community center. What makes it a place to stop is the beautiful murals made of corn decorating the exterior. It is unique and quintessentially Midwestern. It is also just a nice place to stop and rest. As an added bonus everyone in Mitchell was wonderfully helpful and proud of their community.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Minnpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    526
    468
    128
    69
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield Twp Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Its right on the way to the Badlands so we had to stop. It wa the perfect place to gas up and get dinner. Only takes a few minutes and it was a fun break for the family.

Helpful?
Thank candeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was neat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was a one time thing but it was worth the visit. really cool and interesting. Lots of worked involved in making of this Palace . It is one of a kind !!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank napalady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
750 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Worth a look if you're in Mitchell (or passing by)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I hadn't been to the Corn Palace since I was a kid & lets just say "everything looks diff. as an adult". It's pretty much a high school gym that has corn all around it. But if you make it in time to listen to the audio it's an interesting story.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ummmm....corny?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I was really excited about this, having grown up the daughter of a corn farmer, thinking it was a neat little bit of Americana. Sorry, but it was a bit of a let-down. It is right on a busy street, and the inside is a big gift shop. There are indeed many corn murals, and a lot of corn information, but really not that exciting and surrounded by a lot of tacky tourist traps.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank roadtripX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing