We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, amazing, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here May 2012, we will be back to stay again, clean room, great staff, nice big room, great beds, nice pillows, clean bathroom, clean halls, clean hotel. The staff went out of their way to make are stay amazing.

Room Tip: We had a suite, it had 2 queen beds, a pull out couch, perfect for a family of 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kclmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Terry and her staff are awesome. I'd like to stay more often but too expensive for the frequent business traveler. Sometimes it just cheaper to drive home or to the next town. A basic hotel room should cost no more than $75 per night.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Purrplehelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If there were more circles to fill for this hotel I would have filled them. The double queen room was much larger than most, CLEAN and well maintained. We used the stairs once to come and go and even the stairwell was clean. The beds and bedding were top notch. The location is excellent, right across the street from the Whiskey Creek restaurant. Check-in was quick and all of the employee's were friendly. Free breakfast was also great. If your coming and going from the Black Hills this is an excellent stop. You pay a little more than most Mitchell hotels but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie60363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good hotel for business travel. Stayed here September 2012. Room and hotel were clean. Bed was comfortable. Easy access to highway and not too far from town. Shopping and dining were easily accessible. Would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLee723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice hotel friendly staff but overpriced. We had a room with two queen beds for three of us and were charged $10.00 for extra person. Don't quite understand that policy when room technically could have slept four.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Handy for traveling across South Dakota when you don't want any surprises. Clean , great beds and slept with the windows open. Aw good fresh air. This hotel is updated and the cinnamon rolls were outstanding, Clean eating area with people cleaning tables at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edsvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

To sum it up: clean, comfortable bed and the best free breakfast we've ever had as a hotel freebie.

This is a newer hotel and it's nice, clean and quiet. It's just far enough from the Interstate to limit noise.

There were two highlights for us.
1. The front desk staff. When we checked in on Sept 1, the two people at the desk were so helpful and showed som much pride that we couldn't help but think they owned the place.

2. Breakfast. I love eggs and in the morning I really need a good breakfast to get me started. Here I was able to get a hard boiled egg and scrambled eggs. Unlike most "free" breakfasts, I did not have to eat something else at 10:00am.

The pool area looked nice although we didn't have time to use it. We did eat dinner at at the restaurant across the road. Forget the name but it ended in Wood Fired Grill. Food was amazing but the service was really lacking. We got a coupon from the hotel front desk for I think it was 10% off.

We'll stay at this hotel again on our way through.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite because it's all they had left. Nice sized room but of course a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toxica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#13 of 18 in Mitchell
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Address: 810 E Spruce St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $108 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Mitchell Municipal AirportCome and enjoy our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, SD. Our hotel is conveniently located just five miles from the famous Corn Palace and within walking distance of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabela's .Your family can enjoy staying at our hotel in Mitchell, South Dakota, located just off I-90 your gateway to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands and the Black Hills. The location offers you easy access to numerous local attractions including the Dakota Discovery Museum, and the Prehistoric Indian Village. Other nearby attractions include Lake Mitchell and the Model Car Museum. Golfing, shopping and dining are also minutes away.Business travelers can appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel. This Mitchell hotel offers close proximity to many local companies such as Graphic Packaging International, Innovative Systems, Toshiba, Dakota Manufacturing and Dakota Weslyan University. In addition, our hotel provides meeting space for up to 50 people, as well as business services that include free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While you stay at our Mitchell, SD hotel, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool with a water slide and a large hot tub. You can start your day right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar and keep up your daily routine by using our on-site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mitchell
Holiday Inn Express Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing