We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best HI Express ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best HI Express ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel provided a great night's rest for 8 people in two rooms traveling to Mt Rushmore. It exceeded our expectations at every level. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area. The water slide and pool worked well for our two teenage kids to help them work off energy after traveling all day in a car.
Hotel was easy to find. Breakfast was well prepared and presented. Staff was courteous. And most of all the place was sparkling clean!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    104
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
173
71
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The was the first of three hotels we stayed in on our vacation to the Black Hills, it was in a great location, and the pool with the waterslide was a big hit with the kids, and they even had a lifeguard staff available. The room was comfy, and the beds were great as always(hard to beat Holiday Inn beds). The breakfast was ok, I was a little disappointed, because I had raved to my family about how good the breakfast always is and it turned out to be just ok. But over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamCar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, we were stopping here on our way to Rapid City. My family is from the area and I knew this was one of the nicer ones. I wanted a good place to sleep since we had already been on the road for 7 days and wanted a good night rest before our next big stop in Rapid. The breakfast was alright but its just frozen food reheated or at least it tasted like it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshWBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was hands down mine and my husbands favorite hotel from our whole trip. The hotel was fabulous, the staff at the front desk were beyond nice. We even got a room upgrade and got a 10% off voucher for a restaurant nearby. We stayed in the king suite and did we ever feel like kings! The bed was so comfy that I wanted to sleep all day. We were right by the pool, but we didn't even hear anything! They have a cool water slide that goes outside of the building and then back in. Unfortunately we didn't get to try it, but I could see it from our room. They also had a great continental breakfast in the morning too. Very good biscuits and gravy and bacon. Lots of friendly people all over the place making us feel right at home. We are definitely coming back to this hotel when we come visit the Corn Palace next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaska828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall, this HIE was very nice. It was clean and in a good area. The bath was a bit smallish, but the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmofave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

HI Express is my chain of choice and this has to be one of the best locations I have stayed in. The staff is genuinely nice and care about your visit from check in to check out.

The location itself is excellent being right off of the interstate and near Cabella's, Walmart and restaurants.

The room was great and sported a massive flat screen TV with HD cable and plenty of channel variety. The mattress on our king size had to have had a pillow top...best sleep of the trip. The breakfast area was large and roomy, not shoehorned in.

If you have kids, this location has an indoor pool with a rather large water slide, open in the evening (with life guards).

I would recommend to management that they consider putting in vent fans in the bathroom, it would be a nice improvement!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TopSecretTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel was pleasantly surprising for me. The slide was a bonus, the pool was sufficient for a little fun on a quick stay en route to somewhere else. The breakfast was fresh and adequately supplied. Nice front desk staff. Everything was clean. The only thing I laugh a bit about is that they call a small room with a sofa sleeper a suite. It was no suite! There was hardly room to walk after the bed was pulled out. Regardless, we needed the extra space, so were glad for the option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnegrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Mitchell
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Mitchell
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Address: 810 E Spruce St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Mitchell Municipal AirportCome and enjoy our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, SD. Our hotel is conveniently located just five miles from the famous Corn Palace and within walking distance of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabela's .Your family can enjoy staying at our hotel in Mitchell, South Dakota, located just off I-90 your gateway to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands and the Black Hills. The location offers you easy access to numerous local attractions including the Dakota Discovery Museum, and the Prehistoric Indian Village. Other nearby attractions include Lake Mitchell and the Model Car Museum. Golfing, shopping and dining are also minutes away.Business travelers can appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel. This Mitchell hotel offers close proximity to many local companies such as Graphic Packaging International, Innovative Systems, Toshiba, Dakota Manufacturing and Dakota Weslyan University. In addition, our hotel provides meeting space for up to 50 people, as well as business services that include free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While you stay at our Mitchell, SD hotel, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool with a water slide and a large hot tub. You can start your day right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar and keep up your daily routine by using our on-site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mitchell
Holiday Inn Express Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing