We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Only stayed overnight on the way to Keystone / Rapid City. But the stay could not have been any more perfect. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and the shower had plenty of hot water. The towels and sheets were soft and comfortable.

Breakfast was fine which there was a choice of: sausage patties, omelets, pancakes (made by what can best be described as the pancake-o-matic machine), choice of 3 juices, milk, and cereal (I may have left a couple of items out).
The meals can be brought back to your room if you don't want to sit in the dinning area to eat.

I did not get to use the pool or see the exercise room. However the pool slide looked wicked as it was either one or two stories tall.

The television was a large LCD. I was to tired to watch it and I didn't get a chance to see if it had a breakout box for connecting your own video input (hdmi, rca jacks, etc).

If I find myself driving West again I will definitely plan another night here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outlawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    101
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
162
69
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A minor misunderstanding almost lead to a disappointing stay. The manager at this hotel was phenomenal. She went way out of her way to make us feel at home, taking time away from the many things that I'm sure she had to do in order to resolve the issue. I'm very thankful that she happened to be there, stepped out of her office to work with us and I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Rooms were comfortable and, most important to the two 8-year-olds I was traveling with, the pool slide (check on the full website for days it's open) was super-awesome-fun. It's always nice to get a good solid breakfast, complete with protein, without having to leave the hotel first. The man who checked us in at 2:00 AM was very nice, and it was great to find out that the parking lot was safe enough to leave a portion of our immense horde of objects in the car. We had room 202 and it was very quiet. It wasn't the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in, but definitely the best crises-based customer service I've seen.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 2nd floor toward the back and it was quiet. If one takes the stairs, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agapantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We only stayed for one night but it was a very good breakfast for a Holiday Inn, and the lady serving was very friendly, as was the man who checked us in.
Nice to have a wet-bar sink in the room itself (unlike in comparable Comfort Inn suite), and we used the very clean fridge and microwave.
Swimming pool was too cold - especially later in the day. The water-slide is only in operation during the weekends. Needs a restaurant closer by (that is walkable).
Got my Priority Club extra points recognized.
I really struggle to see how these types of rooms can be described as suites, because the "wall" between the sleeping and living areas was no more than 4 feet high and 3 feet across. Parents - don't expect to be able to put the kids to bed and still have a conversation on the sofa - you are only 2 feet away from the beds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were surprised to have such a good stop in what seemed "middle of nowhere". Hotel was clean, spacious rooms and very friendly staff. Will come here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel in the past few months. Both stays were very good. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient, though they don't seem to recognize Priority Club status with any special perks so no upgrades, no special greetings, etc. This hotel is super clean and well maintained. It is within walking distance to Cabela's and there are a few restaurants within walking distance. I will choose this hotel on future stays in the area. I felt it was a good value for the price paid. Hotel has waterslides open on the weekends and are staffed by lifeguards. My little guy loved this, though the pool area is quite small and was pretty busy during our February (weekend) trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nebrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel as well as the Hampton, each a few times. This is my preferred place to go. The staff here puts it above the others. I am gauranteed to be greeted with a sincere smile when I walk through the door. That means a lot when you're on the road frequently. Above Average rooms, pool, breakfast and SERVICE!!! The only thing where the Hampton takes the cake is with the fitness center - it is decked out to the max - whereas the Holiday Inn just has a few treadmills and an elliptical. Also, you should know that there is a price difference between the two hotels, the Holiday Inn running about $10 higher, but it is worth it to me.

Room Tip: There are some King suites that have a window into the pool. If you don't want this, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stay here quite frequently on trips and have never been unhappy. The staff is nice, the work out treadmills are new and the rooms are great. I have to commute 50 miles for work but the drive is worth it when considering the choices in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucksterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
1.8 mi away
Ramada Mitchell Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Address: 810 E Spruce St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Mitchell Municipal AirportCome and enjoy our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell, SD. Our hotel is conveniently located just five miles from the famous Corn Palace and within walking distance of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabela's .Your family can enjoy staying at our hotel in Mitchell, South Dakota, located just off I-90 your gateway to Mt. Rushmore, Badlands and the Black Hills. The location offers you easy access to numerous local attractions including the Dakota Discovery Museum, and the Prehistoric Indian Village. Other nearby attractions include Lake Mitchell and the Model Car Museum. Golfing, shopping and dining are also minutes away.Business travelers can appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel. This Mitchell hotel offers close proximity to many local companies such as Graphic Packaging International, Innovative Systems, Toshiba, Dakota Manufacturing and Dakota Weslyan University. In addition, our hotel provides meeting space for up to 50 people, as well as business services that include free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While you stay at our Mitchell, SD hotel, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool with a water slide and a large hot tub. You can start your day right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar and keep up your daily routine by using our on-site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mitchell
Holiday Inn Express Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing