We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Family got Sick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Mitchell SD
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Memphis, Missouri
1 review
“The Family got Sick”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We arrived and the kids were all very excited because we looked at pictures of the place before we got there. They knew that they had a mini waterpark. We went to our family suite that overlooks the pool from a balcony. The door showed signs of rust because of all of the water vapor and cholorine in the air. We went into the room and it smelled of chlorine as did most of the complex. To keep some of the cholorine gas out of our room we placed towels at the bottom of the door. The kids did not sleep well because of the intense smell. Their throats were burned so we had to ask the front desk for some milk from the continental breakfast room. The staff was happy to offer this to us. Good staff. DON'T STAY IN A FAMILY SUITE

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmonroe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    166
    118
    33
    15
See reviews for
257
95
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We got room 240 which has a microwave/fridge, fold-out couch and over looks the indoor waterslide/pool – if you've got kids they are going to LOVE this hotel! Room décor outdated, but clean and comfortable and quiet during the night (once the last family had left the pool area as the sound of the waterslide/accousitcs of kids yelling is quite noisy). Breakfast was a little below average quality, only a couple of choices of cereal/toast/packaged danish etc. But hey, you can't beat the waterslide... Close by to fast food places, Arby's next door.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronson, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Hotel is right next to a very noisy, very brightly lighted all night quick stop gas station. Drapes and insulation were inadequate to compensate for this.
Ice machine is located in a central area that makes it heard all night in the rooms.
The breakfast buffet had a very meager selection though the coffee was good. Circuit breakers blew during breakfast.
There was an unpleasant sewer stench emitting from the drain after shower was used.
Towels were small and scratchy.
Staff was not friendly or very available.
However the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We only stayed here one night with our 4 kids. The front desk staff were really friendly and helpful. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, corners of bathrrom floor weren't spotless as I'd expect. The best thing about the stay was the mini waterpark. The kids loved the water slide, and there was even a baby pool with a small slide and water spouts. Breakfast area was small, so it was crowded. Breakfast was pretty blah, but enough choices that we all found something to eat. The hotel is easy to find, just off I90. Close to Corn Palace and Prehistoric Indian Village.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — could've been cleaner
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank busymamaWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed here the 2nd week of August. Found the Front Desk Staff to be friendly and very helpful and informative of the area. The pool was nice for the kids and as an adult I even had a good time. I appreciated the fact they had someone watching the slide for safety.
They even had a small slide for little tikes. The room was clean and descent in size. We had a room above the pool and it was clean and beds were ok! I would give this a 3.5 for kid friendly and a 2.5 stars for adults.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and pool
  • Disliked — No bad comments
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank muff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, mn
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

The rooms were decent, clean...beds and shower were average for a hotel. The waterpark was fun for our kids...even had a lighthouse slide for the little ones. The bigger tube slide for older kids had a long line and not worth the wait because it did not go very fast and not very fun to ride on. The hot tub was being filled in the morning so we were not able to use it.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — The hot tub being out of service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theahartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Great indoor pool facility. If you have kids this is the place to stay. There is a large pool with buckets that fill up and dump water on you as well as a large slide into the pool. There is also a smaller pool for the little ones as well as a hot tub. Rooms were very clean and overall hotel was very clean. Very friendly staff that seemed willing to help.

  • Liked — Pool Facilities
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Mitchell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Mitchell SD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mitchell SD

Property: Days Inn Mitchell SD
Address: 1506 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mitchell SD 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-90, see our updated rooms, indoor pool with 150' waterslide, small childrens pool with slide. Locally owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Mitchell SD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Mitchell Hotel Mitchell
Mitchell Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing