We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Charming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lennox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steever House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lennox B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a night here to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We were very impressed with both the staff and the atmosphere of this place. The website does not do it justice. The entire house is decked out in lovely and interesting antiques. The owner keeps a small DVD library and stash of board games available. Outside are hammocks, benches and chairs, as well as a campfire pit.

We stayed in the Yellow Room which was gorgeous and had everything we needed, including a flatscreen TV with built in DVD player. The bathroom had all the amenities and was nicely decorated in purple tones. Breakfast the next morning included everything from seasoned scrambled eggs, sausage, rhubarb bread, and many other delicious morsels.

We hope to stay there again in the future! We felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericanRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

When driving back the lane to the Steever Home you feel as though you are taking a visit to your beloved grandmother's house! Upon entering you feel the same. The property is clean and updated with old-fashioned charm and the hospitality is the finest!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrosinaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Steever House and it was a great home base for visiting Sioux Falls from. Wonderful breakfasts (different fruit, muffins, egg bake, meat and pancakes/pannekokan) each day, relaxing hammocks outside and got in some ping pong games. John and the family were wonderful hosts, giving suggestions for restaurants and info about the area. We would definitely recommend staying there. Hopefully we'll have an occassion to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGMN722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I booked a one-night gettaway in the attic suite and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The Steever house was absolutely fantastic!
Our host went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They were the perfect ballance of pleasant conversation and giving us privacy. They clearly love what they do. They went above and beyond what was expected and really made us feel special.
Our room was amazing. So roomy and cozy at the same time. It was decorated beautifully with attention to every detail. Mood lighting, a luxurious whirlpool, a cozy sitting nook, fireplace and an elegant king size bed. We felt like royalty! It was the ultimate romantic retreat.
Breakfast was prepaired for us at the time of our choosing and served as if we were family. We had the option of choosing our food and were asked about dietary needs... We opted to take what they chose and were not dissapointed! We came downstairs to a bowl of warm blueberry muffins, a decorative spread of fresh fruit (almost too pretty to eat) and a pitcher of juice. We are not cofee drinkers but I hear their freshly ground coffee is good. Next came ham, scrambled eggs with cheese and to-die-for sour cream pancakes. My husband can't quit talking about those pancakes... and he doesn't usually like pancakes!!
I cannot think of one single thing that could have made the Steever house more enjoyable. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boergoatmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to visit Sioux Falls for a weekend and chose to stay here one night. It was a lovely experience. We stayed in the attic room and it was cozy and everything we possibly needed was there. We were the only ones staying that night, so we did sneak a peek at the other rooms and they looked nice as well. Breakfast was great, and we got to visit with John and learn more about the history of the B&B. We had a wonderful experience and if we ever return to SF, we will stay there! We recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a classic rebuilt Victorian, moved and lovingly restored by the Steever family.. You would think that it was built last week and not over 100 years ago. It was set on their family farm.
John, Sara, and their teenage son were all very gracious and chatted with us about things to see on our road trip as well as good restaurants in the area.
Breakfast was unique and delicious.
We visited a dozen B&Bs on this five-week road trip and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. John is very friendly and goes out of his way to make sure his guests are comfortable. We had just came from a vineyard before checking in and John had glasses and a bottle opener for our bottle of wine up to our room in minutes. We stayed in the attic suite which is spacious and has a working fireplace and jacuzzi tub, which is great after a long day. For breakfast, John prepared Dutch Babies with blueberries, and they were absolutely fabulous! Having stayed in Sioux Falls several times, this was a great alternative to the common hotel. Much more personable, breakfast was great (not some microwaved sausage patties and instant eggs!), and not an ounce of city noise. It is a quick 10 minutes from the 41st street exit on I-29. We are already planning our next trip there!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bryan319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steever House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steever House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46850 276th Street, Lennox, SD 57039
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lennox
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lennox
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing