We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steever House Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lennox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steever House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lennox B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a classic rebuilt Victorian, moved and lovingly restored by the Steever family.. You would think that it was built last week and not over 100 years ago. It was set on their family farm.
John, Sara, and their teenage son were all very gracious and chatted with us about things to see on our road trip as well as good restaurants in the area.
Breakfast was unique and delicious.
We visited a dozen B&Bs on this five-week road trip and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. John is very friendly and goes out of his way to make sure his guests are comfortable. We had just came from a vineyard before checking in and John had glasses and a bottle opener for our bottle of wine up to our room in minutes. We stayed in the attic suite which is spacious and has a working fireplace and jacuzzi tub, which is great after a long day. For breakfast, John prepared Dutch Babies with blueberries, and they were absolutely fabulous! Having stayed in Sioux Falls several times, this was a great alternative to the common hotel. Much more personable, breakfast was great (not some microwaved sausage patties and instant eggs!), and not an ounce of city noise. It is a quick 10 minutes from the 41st street exit on I-29. We are already planning our next trip there!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bryan319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Steever House is a beautify restored home with lots of antique furniture. The room was comfortable and the hosts welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was satisfying. The only downside was the 15+mile drive to Sioux Falls. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandMargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

John was in the throes of organizing the annual Sioux Falls Jazz Festival, which he has done since the beginning of the festival. Dealing with headaches like getting enough electricity on-site, you might think he wouldn't have time for his guests, but just the opposite.

John and his family are welcoming, friendly, and keep it real. My favorite place in all of Lennox! I plan on returning there very soon. --Mike

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. I stayed on the second floor in the back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makomillins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We selected the Steever House B&B because we like staying in old but restored Victorian houses. Why? because it is our humble communication with times past in which we never lived. John greeted us at the door and made us feel completely at home. Carefully decorated and very clean, the yellow room was oriented SE and received early morning sunlight. The queen-size bed was very comfortable (hooray!). Its headboard was oriented across the NW corner of the room (something different - probably good Feng Shui). The yellow room is paired with a super-spiffed private bath just down the hall - may I share with you that the shower stall has a quirk or two :-). We slept with the windows open, with a South wind blowing in, and heard no road noise from anywhere. John's hot breakfast was exceptional - fruit & yogurt, a vegetable frittata, and just-baked muffins. We'd stay with John & Sara again, definitely!

Room Tip: Any second floor room will likely please, but do check out the attic suite before you decide. If it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our second time at the Steever House B&B. As far as we’re concerned, it’s worth the extra miles just to have the pleasure of quiet, well appointed, comfortable (include the beds) place to stay. We had several activities in Sioux Falls, and were surprised at how close the city is. Including the airport – about 20 minutes away. John is wonderful, caring host. We would go WAY out of our way to stay at the Steever House. DandPinWA

Room Tip: For an amazing room, ask for the room in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandPinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the attic suite just one night and i'd wished we could have stayed all week! Such a beautiful home and John and Sara were very welcoming and friendly. The Attic suite was perfect! We loved the whirlpool tub and the fireplace. The bathroom was huge and the comfy king size bed was amazing! You don't often stay elsewhere and say you like the bed more than your own, so comfy! We will definitely be back and recommending the Steever house to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice and worth the money, however, the most private room with bathroom connected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steever House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steever House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46850 276th Street, Lennox, SD 57039
Location: United States > South Dakota > Lennox
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lennox
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing